onc brain

About · curated by Nick Boehling, MD · @nb2276

2026-05-20

digest generated 2026-09-15

LS-SCLC phase 3: 54 Gy/30 fx BID SIB vs 45 Gy BID, mOS 60.7 vs 39.5 mo, HR 0.55 (0.37–0.72), p=0.003; similar toxicity, DSMB stopped at interim.
Thoracic led: 54 Gy BID SIB improved OS (HR 0.55) and local PFS (HR 0.51) in LS-SCLC without added G3–4 oesophagitis or pneumonitis, stopped at interim. In breast, exploratory pooled data show tamoxifen cut 15-yr IBR to 11.4% vs 19.0% in unirradiated good-risk DCIS; retrospective proton PMRT capsular contracture HR 1.76 lost significance on MVA (P=.083).

Breast

Two questions next to the RT decision, both from non-randomised comparisons: tamoxifen as the lever when good-risk DCIS skips RT, and whether PBS proton PMRT adds implant capsular contracture over IMRT.

Caveats dominate

Pencil beam scanning proton vs IMRT photon PMRT: capsular contracture risk

ForSubpectoral implant reconstruction (TE/I or DTI) receiving PMRT

TL;DRProton vs photon PMRT CC HR 1.76 (0.93-3.32, P=.083) on MVA; 2-yr CC 50% with protons plus DTI.

Why it mattersRadiation oncology

The proton excess persists within both reconstruction types (2-yr CC 23% vs 12% after TE/I, 50% vs 35% after DTI) even though the adjusted HR crossed 1. Dose, fractionation and superficial constraints are not reported in source, so the PBS planning lever behind it is unknown. It bears on proton selection for implant pts.

Monday clinic

In a pt planned for subpectoral DTI reconstruction who is being considered for PBS proton PMRT, this questions that pairing (2-yr CC 50%); it does not address autologous or prepectoral reconstruction. The longer read

12 details

Retrospective, IRB-approved cohort from 2 centers within a single institution, Jan 2017 to Dec 2023. Hypothesis stated a priori: proton cohort would have higher CC. Median follow-up 42 mo proton, 47 mo photon.

Subpectoral 2-stage TE/I or DTI reconstruction with PMRT; N=175 (89 proton, 86 photon). Median age 49 (range 24-78), 63% Hispanic. Groups balanced except laterality and reconstruction type (both P<.001).

Pencil beam scanning proton vs IMRT photon PMRT; the TE was irradiated in all TE/I pts. Dose, fractionation, bolus and superficial dose constraints are not reported in source.

Capsular contracture by Kaplan-Meier; associated factors by Cox proportional hazards, verified with binary logistic regression.

Reconstruction type was the only factor that stayed associated on multivariable analysis; the proton effect did not reach significance after adjustment (see tables).

ComparisonModelHR (95% CI)P
Proton vs photonUnivariate2.3 (1.26-4.30).007
Proton vs photonMultivariable1.76 (0.93-3.32).083
DTI vs TE/IMultivariable3.0 (1.7-5.5)<.001
ReconstructionProtonPhoton
DTI50% (n=36)35% (n=15)
TE/I23% (n=53)12% (n=71)

The source frames proton vs photon CC data as scarce and reports this as the largest PBS PMRT reconstruction cohort to date. RADCOMP compares proton vs photon breast RT on cardiac outcomes, not reconstruction complications, so it will not settle this question.

subpectoral TE/I or DTI implant reconstruction receiving PBS proton or IMRT photon PMRT
Does not represent autologous or prepectoral reconstruction.

Photon DTI stratum is only n=15, so the within-DTI modality contrast is underpowered. CC grading scale and RT planning parameters are absent from the abstract, which blocks translation to a specific planning change.

Adjusted proton HR 1.76 with an interval of 0.93-3.32 excludes neither no effect nor a large one; P=.083 is not reassurance. The consistent direction within both reconstruction types is the stronger signal, and PBS plus DTI is where the risk concentrates.

Retrospective cohort with reconstruction type imbalanced between modalities (P<.001); proton effect lost significance on multivariable analysis, so the modality signal stays confounded.

  • Does proton CC excess persist after matching on reconstruction type?
  • Which PBS superficial dose parameters drive capsular contracture?
  • Does prepectoral or autologous reconstruction change proton vs photon risk?

Sourced from Zerey et al., Zerey, M.M. et al.

📚 Sources · 📄 2 papers
📄 PAPER Zerey; Gal; Feenstra et al. · International journal of radiation oncology, biology, physics (2026-04)
Does Pencil Beam Scanning Proton Therapy Impart a Higher Risk of Capsular Contracture Compared With Intensity Modulated Photon Radiation Therapy in the Postmastectomy Reconstruction Setting?
Abstract
BACKGROUND: Postmastectomy radiation therapy (PMRT) may cause adverse events in the reconstruction setting. Proton-based PMRT is increasingly used and has been shown to improve cardiac and pulmonary dosimetry. Data on the risk of capsular contracture (CC) with proton versus photon PMRT remain scarce. We compared the CC rate of the largest cohort of patients undergoing reconstruction after pencil beam scanning proton PMRT reported to date with an intensity modulated radiation therapy photon cohort, hypothesizing that the proton cohort would have a higher rate of CC.<br/><br/>METHODS AND MATERIALS: An institutional review board -approved retrospective study was conducted on patients with breast cancer who underwent subpectoral 2-stage tissue expander/implant (TE/I) or direct-to-implant (DTI) breast reconstruction and received either pencil beam scanning proton or intensity modulated radiation therapy photon PMRT between January 2017 and December 2023 at 2 centers within a single institution. All patients undergoing TE/I had the TE irradiated. CC rates were estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method. Cox proportional hazards analysis, denoted as hazard ratios (HRs) with 95% CIs, was used to assess variables potentially associated with the outcome, and a binary logistic regression model was used to verify the results.<br/><br/>RESULTS: The study cohort comprised 175 patients (89 proton; 86 photon). The median age was 49 years (range, 24-78), 63% were Hispanic. Patient demographics were well balanced between the groups, except in tumor laterality (P < .001) and reconstruction type (TE/I vs DTI; P < .001). The median follow-up was 42 and 47 months for the proton and photon groups, respectively. In a multivariable analysis, DTI patients had a significantly higher risk of CC compared with TE/I patients (HR, 3.0; 95% CI, 1.7-5.5; P < .001). Proton patients had a higher risk of developing CC compared with the photon group in univariate analysis (HR, 2.3; 95% CI, 1.26-4.30; P = .007), although this effect did not reach statistical significance in the multivariable model (HR, 1.76; 95% CI, 0.93-3.32; P = .083). The 2-year CC rate for patients treated with protons and DTI (n = 36), photons and DTI (n = 15), protons and TE/I (n = 53), and photons and TE/I (n = 71) was 50%, 35%, 23%, 12%, respectively (P < .001). No other factors were significantly associated with CC development.<br/><br/>CONCLUSION: In this contemporary large proton versus photon PMRT cohort, patients treated with proton showed a trend toward an increased risk of CC. Patients undergoing DTI who were treated with protons had the highest risk of CC (50%). Careful consideration of reconstruction and radiation therapy modalities, assessing CC risk, and also involving patient input, is important for treatment selection.
📄 PAPER Zerey, M.M.; Gal, O.; Feenstra, N. et al. · International Journal of Radiation Oncology*Biology*Physics (2025-09)
Does Pencil Beam Scanning Proton Therapy Impart a Higher Risk of Capsular Contracture when Compared with Intensity Modulated Photon Radiotherapy in the Post-Mastectomy Reconstruction Setting?
📝 https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ijrobp.2025.07.1298
Caveats dominate

NRG/RTOG 9804 + E5194 combined analysis (tamoxifen after lumpectomy, DCIS)

ForGood-risk DCIS, lumpectomy without RT, low/int grade, ≤2.5 cm, margins ≥3 mm

TL;DR15-yr IBR 11.4% vs 19.0% with vs without tamoxifen in good-risk DCIS treated by lumpectomy without RT; invasive IBR HR 0.43.

Why it mattersRadiation oncology

The association was confined to invasive events (DCIS-IBR p=0.089), which made up 65 of 117 IBRs. For the RT-omission discussion, the 11.4% 15-yr IBR on tamoxifen has no RT arm in this analysis to benchmark against, and which good-risk subgroups drive it sits in Fig 3, with subgroup HRs not in source text.

Monday clinic

In low/intermediate-grade DCIS ≤2.5 cm with margins ≥3 mm managed without RT after lumpectomy, this supports tamoxifen as an invasive-IBR risk-reduction option in the omission discussion; it does not extend to high-grade DCIS or pts receiving RT. The longer read

9 details 1 trial watching

Ancillary exploratory analysis combining the non-RT arm of NRG/RTOG 9804, which randomized good-risk DCIS to RT or no RT, with the good-risk E5194 cohort observed without RT. Tamoxifen was optional and not randomized in either trial. Univariate and multivariable Fine-Gray models; median follow-up 14.85 yr.

N=878 (317 RTOG 9804, 561 E5194); median age 59 (28-88). Good-risk: low- or intermediate-grade, ≤2.5 cm, excision margins ≥3 mm, lumpectomy without RT.

Tamoxifen, optional per trial; used by 43.1% overall (65.6% RTOG 9804 vs 30.3% E5194). Dose, duration and adherence not reported in source.

No RT in the analyzed population. The RTOG 9804 RT arm is not part of this analysis, so tamoxifen alone is not compared against RT here.

IBR (any), invasive IBR, DCIS-IBR, contralateral breast event and overall survival. CBE and OS results are not reported in the source text.

117 IBRs (65 invasive, 52 DCIS). The reduction tracked invasive IBR, not DCIS-IBR.

EndpointTamoxifenNo tamoxifenEffect
Any IBR, 15-yr estimate11.4% (7.9-15.5)19.0% (15.3-22.9)p=0.001
Any IBR, multivariablen/an/aHR 0.54 (0.35-0.83), p=0.0045
Invasive IBRnot reportednot reportedp=0.0048; MVA HR 0.43 (0.24-0.77), p=0.0042
DCIS-IBRnot reportednot reportedp=0.089
CharacteristicTamoxifenNo tamoxifenp
Enrolled on NRG/RTOG 980455.0%21.8%<0.0001
Non-white13.8%9.2%0.034
Negative re-excision27.2%10.6%<0.0001
Pathologic size ≤5 mm57.0%41.3%<0.0001

NSABP B-24 randomized tamoxifen after lumpectomy plus RT, and the UK/ANZ DCIS trial randomized tamoxifen and RT in a factorial design. Here tamoxifen is examined only in good-risk pts managed without RT, and without randomization.

low- or intermediate-grade DCIS ≤2.5 cm with margins ≥3 mm treated with lumpectomy without RT
Does not represent high-grade DCIS or pts who received RT after lumpectomy.

Multivariable covariates are not listed in source, and trial membership also differs in follow-up (13.87 vs 16.15 yr). The DCIS-IBR result (p=0.089) rests on 52 events and does not exclude an effect.

Tamoxifen use tracked lower invasive recurrence in good-risk DCIS managed without RT, consistent in direction with randomized tamoxifen data. It does not settle whether tamoxifen alone approaches RT, or how much of the gap reflects the lower-risk profile of users.

Exploratory ancillary analysis; tamoxifen optional, not randomized, and imbalanced by trial, re-excision and size. Parent RCT tested RT, not tamoxifen, so residual confounding limits causal read.

Sourced from Wright et al.

📚 Sources · 📄 1 paper
📄 PAPER Wright; Moughan; Woodward et al. · International journal of radiation oncology, biology, physics (2026-05)
Impact of Tamoxifen Only After Lumpectomy for "Good-Risk" Duct Carcinoma In Situ: Combined Analysis of the NRG Oncology/RTOG 9804 and ECOG-ACRIN E5194 Trials.
Abstract
PURPOSE: The NRG Oncology/Radiation Therapy Oncology Group (RTOG) 9804 trial randomized patients with "good-risk" ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS) to radiation (RT) or no RT following lumpectomy. The Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group-American College of Radiology Imaging Network E5194 trial had a comparable cohort observed without RT. Tamoxifen use was optional in both trials. This ancillary exploratory analysis combining both data sets assessed the effect of tamoxifen on ipsilateral breast recurrence (IBR) in "good-risk" DCIS treated with lumpectomy alone.<br/><br/>METHODS AND MATERIALS: A combined database from the non-RT arm of NRG/RTOG 9804 and the "good-risk" cohort from E5194 (low- or intermediate-grade, &#x2264;2.5 cm, excision margins &#x2265;3 mm) was created, and distributions of patient and DCIS characteristics by tamoxifen use were compared by &#x3c7;2. IBR, invasive IBR, DCIS-IBR, contralateral breast event, and overall survival were estimated, and distributions were compared between tamoxifen use groups. Univariate and multivariable Fine-Gray regression models were used to analyze factors that may be associated with endpoints.<br/><br/>RESULTS: Eight hundred and seventy-eight patients were analyzed (317 from NRG/RTOG 9804 and 561 from E5194). The use of tamoxifen overall was 43.1% (65.6% in NRG/RTOG 9804 and 30.3% in E5194). At a median follow-up of 14.85 years, there were 117 IBRs (65 invasive and 52 DCIS). There was a significant association for reduced IBR with tamoxifen use (P = .001); estimated 15-year IBR with tamoxifen is 11.4% (95% CI, 7.9-15.5) and without is 19.0% (15.3-22.9). Tamoxifen use was significantly associated with reduced invasive IBR (P = .0048) but not DCIS-IBR (P = .089). On multivariable analysis, patients who received tamoxifen were 46% less likely to have any IBR (hazard ratio, 0.54; 95% CI, 0.35-0.83; P = .0045), and 57% less likely to have invasive IBR (hazard ratio, 0.43; 95% CI, 0.24-0.77; P = 0.0042).<br/><br/>CONCLUSION: For patients with "good-risk" DCIS treated with lumpectomy without RT, tamoxifen use was significantly associated with a reduction in IBR overall and invasive IBR, not DCIS-IBR.
📝 https://www.redjournal.org/article/S0360-3016(26)00703-0/abstract

Thoracic / Lung

Unlike QD escalation in CONVERT and CALGB 30610/RTOG 0538, involved-field BID SIB escalation to 54 Gy improved OS; the 39.5 mo control arm beats prior 45 Gy BID arms, so transfer depends on selection (PET-staged, ECOG 0–1, age ≤70).

Early signal

High-dose hyperfractionated SIB RT vs standard-dose RT for limited-stage SCLC NCT03214003

ForLS-SCLC (VALSG), age 18–70, ECOG 0–1, PET-CT and brain MRI staged

Overall survival

HR 0.55

95% CI 0.37–0.72, p=0.003 · mOS 60.7 vs 39.5 mo

TL;DRmOS 60.7 vs 39.5 mo, HR 0.55 (0.37–0.72), p=0.003 with 54 Gy/30 fx BID SIB vs 45 Gy/30 fx BID in LS-SCLC; toxicity similar.

Why it mattersRadiation oncology

Escalation is a GTV/IGTV-only SIB (PTV held at 45 Gy) within the same 30 fx, 3-week BID course on PET-defined involved fields. Local PFS separated (HR 0.51) while MFS did not (HR 0.81), fitting an in-field effect. The decision it moves is BID dose, 45 vs 54 Gy, not BID vs once daily.

Monday clinic

In PET-CT and brain-MRI staged LS-SCLC, age 18–70 and ECOG 0–1, planned for concurrent platinum-etoposide with BID thoracic RT, this supports 54 Gy SIB as an alternative to 45 Gy; it does not extend to pts over 70, ECOG 2, or once-daily schedules. The longer read

8 details 1 trial watching

Open-label randomised phase 3, 1:1, 16 public hospitals in China, N=224 (108 vs 116) enrolled June 2017 to April 2021. Stratified by ECOG, stage, prior chemo courses and platinum choice. Stopped early by the DSMB at the interim after 88 deaths; median follow-up 46 mo.

Age 18–70, ECOG 0–1, LS-SCLC by VALSG staging, with mandatory whole-body PET-CT and brain MRI. Untreated or after 1–2 courses of platinum-etoposide. Median age 64; 86% stage III; 79% current or former smokers.

Cisplatin 75 mg/m² or carboplatin AUC 5 plus etoposide 100 mg/m² days 1–3, 4 courses every 3 weeks; almost 99% received all 4. PCI 25 Gy/10 fx for responders (82% vs 81%).

54 Gy/30 fx SIB to GTV/IGTV with PTV at 45 Gy vs 45 Gy/30 fx, both VMAT, BID at least 6 h apart, 5 days/wk for 3 weeks, starting 0–42 days after chemo cycle 1. Involved field: PET-positive primary and nodes, CTV = GTV + 5 mm, no elective nodal irradiation. Constraints included MLD ≤15 Gy, lung V20 <30%, cord max ≤40 Gy.

Primary: OS in ITT, measured from chemo start. Secondary: PFS, local PFS, MFS, DCR, acute and late toxicity (CTCAE v5.0), HRQOL (to be reported separately). Powered on HR 0.65 at 81% power, target 326 pts.

Primary endpoint crossed the interim boundary and held at the January 2023 cutoff, with 40 (37%) vs 66 (57%) deaths. Arm-level estimates are in the efficacy table.

Endpoint54 Gy SIB45 GyHR (95% CI), p
Median OS (primary)60.7 mo (49.2–62.0)39.5 mo (27.5–51.4)0.55 (0.37–0.72), p=0.003
2-yr OS76%54%p=0.001
Median PFS30.5 mo (14.5–46.5)16.7 mo (10.7–22.7)0.70 (0.49–0.99), p=0.044
Median local PFSNot reached40.6 mo (22.8–58.4)0.51 (0.33–0.78), p=0.002
Median MFS40.2 mo (26.6–53.8)23.8 mo (10.1–37.5)0.81 (0.57–1.16), p=0.248
DCR97%93%p=0.218
Event54 Gy45 Gyp
Oesophagitis14 (13%)14 (12%)0.84
Pneumonitis5 (5%)7 (6%)0.663
Neutropenia48 (44%)48 (41%)0.64
Thrombocytopenia14 (13%)17 (14%)0.71
TrialEscalated scheduleEndpointEscalated arm45 Gy BID arm
This trial (phase 3)54 Gy/30 fx BID SIBmOS · 2-yr OS60.7 mo · 76%39.5 mo · 54%
CONVERT (phase 3)66 Gy/33 fx QDmOS · 2-yr OS25 mo · 51%30 mo · 56%
CALGB 30610/RTOG 0538 (phase 3)70 Gy QDMedian survival · 5-yr OS28.5 mo · 29%30.1 mo · 32%
Northern European randomised phase 260 Gy/40 fx BID2-yr OS74.2%48.1%

Acute G3–4 RT toxicity similar between arms. No late G3 oesophagitis or stricture in either arm; late G3 pneumonitis in 2 vs 3 pts, no G3 pulmonary fibrosis. One treatment-related death (myocardial infarction) in the 54 Gy arm.

INT-0096 set 45 Gy/30 fx BID as the reference. CONVERT (66 Gy/33 fx QD) and CALGB 30610/RTOG 0538 (70 Gy QD) escalated dose without acceleration or hyperfractionation and did not beat it; the Northern European randomised phase 2 of 60 Gy/40 fx BID was the only prior BID escalation signal. The authors describe this as the first phase 3 to escalate while keeping BID delivery.

fit, PET-CT and brain-MRI staged LS-SCLC pts aged 18–70 with ECOG 0–1 receiving concurrent platinum-etoposide
Does not represent pts over 70, ECOG 2, or anyone staged without PET-CT.

Control mOS of 39.5 mo beat the 24 mo design assumption and prior 45 Gy BID arms (20.8–30 mo), marking a selected cohort. Tumour and RT volumes were not controlled, and the interim analysis is listed as the only protocol amendment despite being described as preplanned. Reporting inconsistencies: median age given as both 64 and 62, and the OS CI upper bound (62.0) sits just above the 60.7 mo median.

The authors credit local control for the OS gain, but first-relapse rates were near identical (59 [55%] vs 65 [56%]) and chest-first failure did not differ significantly, so patterns of failure do not yet show where the benefit arises. Subgroup and HRQOL results are unreported.

CONSORT flow
Assessed / enrolled 235
↓ 11 excluded
Randomized224
↓
54 Gy SIB
allocated 108
analyzed 108
mOS 60.7 mo
45 Gy
allocated 116
analyzed 116
mOS 39.5 mo

Stopped at interim for benefit with 224 of 326 planned accrued; truncated RCTs tend to overstate effect. Single-country, open-label, no central RT QA, age ≤70.

Sourced from Jiayi Yu et al.

📚 Sources · 📄 1 paper
📄 PAPER Jiayi Yu; Leilei Jiang; Lina Zhao et al. · Lancet Respiratory Medicine (2024-08)
High-dose hyperfractionated simultaneous integrated boost radiotherapy versus standard-dose radiotherapy for limited-stage small-cell lung cancer in China: a multicentre, open-label, randomised, phase 3 trial