onc brain

About Β· curated by Nick Boehling, MD Β· @nb2276

2026-09-14

digest generated 2026-09-15

SWOG S1827/MAVERICK: phase III PCI 25 Gy/10 fx + MRI vs MRI surveillance alone in LS or ES SCLC; design only, no CFFS or OS results in source.
Thoracic carried the day's only study. MAVERICK tests whether MRI surveillance can replace PCI in LS or ES SCLC, with cognitive failure-free survival as 1Β° EP. Source shows design and eligibility only, no CFFS or OS results. The RT decision at stake is PCI omission; discretionary HA-PCI and salvage RT choices will complicate the cognitive read.

Thoracic / Lung

Studies from before MRI surveillance favored PCI (fewer brain mets, improved OS); MAVERICK asks whether that still holds now that MRI brain surveillance is routine.

Unclear

SWOG S1827/MAVERICK

ForLS or ES SCLC, responding after platinum Β± IO, no brain mets on MRI, PS 0-2

TL;DRRandomized phase III, LS or ES SCLC: PCI 25 Gy/10 fx + MRI vs MRI surveillance alone; no CFFS or OS results in source tweets.

Why it mattersRadiation oncology

The RT question is PCI omission, not RT omission: the surveillance arm still gets RT at brain mets (SRS, WBRT or HA-WBRT at discretion), so CFFS pits upfront 25 Gy/10 fx PCI against deferred salvage. HA-PCI was also discretionary, diluting any hippocampal-sparing read. No CFFS or OS result in source tweets.

Trial schema. PCI 25 Gy / 10 FX; MRI brain surveillance and cognitive testing at 3, 6, 9, 12, 18, and 24 months.
Trial schema. PCI 25 Gy / 10 FX; MRI brain surveillance and cognitive testing at 3, 6, 9, 12, 18, and 24 months.
9 details 4 trials watching

Randomized phase III, PCI + MRI brain surveillance vs MRI surveillance alone. Stratified by LS vs ES stage, immunotherapy (y/n) and PS 0-1 vs 2. N and follow-up not reported in source tweets.

LS or ES SCLC, β‰₯18y, PS 0-2. LS pts completed platinum chemo plus definitive thoracic RT or resection; ES pts completed platinum chemo; immunotherapy allowed. Required response to upfront therapy, no brain mets on MRI within 28 days, enrollment within 16 weeks of last chemo cycle.

PCI 25 Gy/10 fx, with HA-PCI allowed at physician discretion. RT recommended at detection of brain mets, with SRS, WBRT or HA-WBRT at physician discretion.

Primary: cognitive failure free survival (time to cognitive decline or death). Hypothesis: MRI surveillance alone gives superior CFFS without a decline in OS. MRI and cognitive testing at 3, 6, 9, 12, 18 and 24 mo.

No CFFS, OS or brain-met incidence results reported in source tweets.

Per the presenting tweet, pre-MRI-surveillance studies showed fewer brain mets and improved OS with PCI, the basis for PCI as standard. MAVERICK tests that against a modern MRI surveillance plus salvage RT pathway, the question also addressed by the Japanese ES-SCLC phase III (Takahashi) and EORTC PRIMALung.

LS or ES SCLC pts responding to platinum-based first-line therapy (Β± immunotherapy), PS 0-2, with no brain mets on MRI
Does not represent pts with prior or MRI-detected brain mets, or progression after upfront therapy.

Discretionary HA-PCI blends techniques in the PCI arm, and discretionary salvage modality (SRS vs WBRT vs HA-WBRT) makes the surveillance arm's cognitive cost practice-dependent. Source does not state how OS non-decline is formally tested.

The trial reframes PCI as a cognitive trade-off rather than a brain-met prevention question, with CFFS as the primary. Whatever the result, it will not separate standard PCI from HA-PCI or define the best salvage modality.

Source tweets carry design, eligibility and hypothesis slides only; no CFFS or OS result, so the PCI omission question cannot be classified yet.

Sourced from @StephenVLiu

πŸ“š Sources Β· 🐦 1 tweet