onc brain

About · curated by Nick Boehling, MD · @nb2276

Unclear

6 studies Subscribe via RSS →

Unclear

PROTEUS

ForHigh-risk prostate cancer; risk definition and treatment not specified in source

TL;DR5-yr BCR-FS 44%, MFS 71%, CSS 92% at 60-mo median follow-up in a high-risk cohort.

Also covered May 31

8 details 2 trials watching

At median follow-up 60 mo: 5-yr BCR-FS 44%, 5-yr MFS 71%, 5-yr CSS 92%. No per-arm, per-subgroup, or comparator figures reported in source.

Beyond the missing design, the source names no treatment received, so the 44% biochemical failure rate cannot be read as a benchmark for any specific perioperative strategy. No N, no risk-stratification criteria, and no confidence intervals accompany the three rates.

a high-risk prostate cancer cohort as characterised in the source
Does not represent any defined stage, grade, or treatment group, since the source states none.

Source gives three 5-yr rates and follow-up only. No design, N, treatment, or comparator, so no SOC read is supportable.

📚 Sources · 🐦 1 tweet
Unclear

USPCC 2026 Point-Counterpoint: PSMA PET Response Assessment in APMR

ForAPMR / mCRPC starting ARSI or bipolar androgen therapy, serial PSMA PET considered

TL;DRHigh vs low δ-percent SUVmax carried HR 5.03 (1.17-21.65) for OS; δ-absolute SUVmax HR 9.31 (1.81-47.87).

Reported via UroToday →

Why it mattersRadiation oncology

The prognostic separation is real but the direction of uptake change is the confound: ADT and ARSI can raise PSMA expression independent of burden, so a flare on restaging PET after starting an ARSI is not evidence to abandon a planned metastasis-directed course. Timing of the post-treatment scan relative to systemic therapy start is the parameter that gates interpretation.

Monday clinic

In APMR pts imaged shortly after starting abiraterone, enzalutamide, or bipolar androgen therapy, rising PSMA uptake does not reliably separate progression from AR-driven expression change; it does not speak to baseline staging PET, where the evidence base is separate.

The longer read
9 details 5 trials watching

A point-counterpoint conference presentation, arguing the negative position. The evidence marshalled is three published studies: a prospective single-arm imaging trial (n=16 evaluable), a bipolar androgen therapy series (n=6), and the RECIP 1.0 framework paper.

The anchor trial enrolled pts with APMR starting abiraterone or enzalutamide, imaged with 18F-DCFPyL PET/CT immediately before therapy and again at 2-4 months. The BAT series imaged at baseline and 3 months.

Prognostic separation was consistent across both quantitative stratifiers, with DPSM HR 5.03 (95% CI 1.17-21.65) and DASM HR 9.31 (95% CI 1.81-47.87) for overall survival. A mixed but predominantly increased uptake pattern marked the shorter time to therapy change.

StratifierMedian time to therapy changeMedian OSp (TTC / OS)
Low DPSM12.2 mo (11.3-NA)37.2 mo (28.9-NA)reference
High DPSM6.5 mo (4.6-NA)17.8 mo (13.9-NA)0.0001 / 0.02
Low DASM12.2 mo (11.3-NA)NA (37.2-NA)reference
High DASM6.9 mo (6.1-NA)17.8 mo (13.9-NA)0.003 / 0.002

RECIP 1.0 is the field's standardization attempt, categorizing PD/PR/SD/CR by combining PSMA PET with CT, but it was derived in the radioligand therapy setting and its transfer to AR-directed therapy is exactly what Rowe argues is unestablished.

Beyond the small samples, the measurement layer itself is unvalidated: repeatability work using Bland-Altman, ICC, and within-subject coefficient of variation found lesion identification and segmentation variability material even above 1.5 cm³. A biomarker whose test-retest behaviour is uncertain cannot support a serial-change decision rule.

The talk separates two claims that often get merged: that post-therapy PSMA PET change is prognostic, which the data support, and that it is a valid response assessment, which requires reproducibility and a therapy-independent relationship between uptake and burden. Prognostic value in a 16-patient series does not license per-patient treatment decisions.

Conference position talk, not a result. Its supporting datasets are n=16 and n=6 prospective series; no comparative design establishes or refutes PET response assessment.

📚 Sources · 📄 1 paper
📄 PAPER · UroToday
USPCC 2026: Point-Counterpoint 1: PSMA PET Has No Role at Present as a Response Assessment
Abstract
metastatic androgen pathway modulation resistant prostate cancer, Bipolar androgen therapy, PSMA PET imaging, 18F-DCFPyL PET/CT, PSMA-targeted PET agents.
📝 https://www.urotoday.com/conference-highlights/uspcc-2026/170965-uspcc-2026-point-counterpoint-1-psma-pet-has-no-role-at-present-as-a-response-assessment.html?mtm_campaign=170965_SocialUSPCC26_ID170965
Unclear

MROQC ADT Practice Patterns

ForIntact high-risk M0/N0-1 prostate ca planned for definitive RT

TL;DR67.0% of 553 high-risk pts got guideline-concordant ADT (≥18mo); ARPI use 23.2% among STAMPEDE-eligible post-publication.

Why it mattersRadiation oncology

The deviation is concentrated where the guideline is weakest-anchored: cN1 (OR 2.94) and GG4-5 (OR 6.23 / 9.45) drove ≥18mo recommendations, so the third of pts NOT getting guideline-concordant ADT are largely single-factor high-risk. Facility remained a predictor after case-mix adjustment (P<.0001), which points at practice culture, not patient selection.

Monday clinic

For a man with single-factor high-risk localized disease (GG4-5 or PSA ≥20 alone) heading to definitive RT, this frames how much of the ≥18mo ADT recommendation is guideline versus local habit; it does not address post-prostatectomy salvage or M1 disease.

The longer read
9 details

Prospective observational analysis within the Michigan Radiation Oncology Quality Consortium (MROQC), a statewide quality collaborative. 26 centers, accrual June 2020 to November 2024, N=553. Intended ADT duration and ARPI use were collected prospectively at the treatment decision, not abstracted retrospectively.

Intact (non-postoperative) high-risk M0/N0-1 prostate cancer planned for definitive radiotherapy. Risk features: cT3/4 13.3%, cN1 19.9%, GG 4-5 75.0%, PSA ≥20 ng/mL 40.0%.

Primary outcome was intended guideline-concordant ADT (GC-ADT, ≥18 months) per the 2022 AUA/ASTRO recommendation of 18-36 months. Secondary analyses covered multivariable predictors of GC-ADT, ARPI adoption before versus after STAMPEDE M0 publication, and facility-level variability via a mixed-effects model with treatment site as random intercept.

91.3% were recommended ADT and 67.0% were guideline-concordant. Among the 27.9% meeting STAMPEDE M0 eligibility, ARPI recommendation went from 0% pre-publication to 23.2% after. Site-level variability remained significant on multivariable analysis (P<.0001).

FactorOR (95% CI)
cN12.94 (1.44 to 5.99)
GG46.23 (2.85 to 13.62)
GG59.45 (4.46 to 20.06)
PSA ≥403.64 (1.22 to 10.87)

The 2022 AUA/ASTRO guideline sets 18-36 months, and STAMPEDE M0 supports ARPI intensification for ≥2 of cT3/T4, GG 4-5, PSA ≥40, or cN1. Both benchmarks are met by a minority here, echoing the long-standing gap between the long-course ADT durations tested in EORTC 22863 and RTOG 9202 era trials and what is actually intended in practice.

intact high-risk M0/N0-1 prostate cancer treated with definitive RT inside a statewide quality consortium
Does not represent post-prostatectomy salvage, node-positive M1 disease, or practices outside a participating quality collaborative.

Intended duration is a proxy for delivered duration, so the true concordance rate could fall further with early discontinuation. STAMPEDE M0 eligibility was applied to a cohort accrued partly before that trial reported, so the 23.2% post-publication figure reflects an adoption curve still in motion rather than a steady state.

The finding that facility explains variance after adjusting for cN1, grade group, and PSA is the load-bearing result: with case mix accounted for, where a man is treated still moves how long he is recommended ADT. That is a quality-improvement target rather than an evidence gap, and it is the kind of signal a consortium is uniquely built to detect and act on.

Prospective practice-pattern survey of intended treatment, no efficacy endpoint. Documents a care-delivery gap rather than testing whether the guideline duration is right.

  • Does intended ADT duration match delivered duration?
  • Which facility-level factors drive the residual variability?
  • Optimal ADT duration for single-factor high-risk disease
📚 Sources · 📄 1 paper
📄 PAPER Dykstra, Michael P.; Regan, Samuel N.; Yin, Huiying (Maggie) et al. · JCO Oncology Practice (2025-09)
Androgen Deprivation Therapy Practice Patterns in High-Risk Prostate Cancer Treated With Definitive Radiotherapy: Prospective Results From a Statewide Quality Consortium
Abstract
PURPOSE The 2022 AUA/ASTRO guidelines recommend 18-36 months of androgen deprivation therapy (ADT) with definitive radiotherapy for localized, high-risk prostate cancer. The STAMPEDE M0 trial supports intensification with androgen receptor pathway inhibitors (ARPIs) for patients with ≥2 cT3/T4, Grade Group [GG] 4-5, prostate-specific antigen (PSA) ≥40 ng/mL, or cN1. Given advances in imaging, risk stratification, and treatment delivery, we characterized contemporary practice patterns using prospective data from the Michigan Radiation Oncology Quality Consortium (MROQC). METHODS Patients enrolled in MROQC with intact, high-risk M0/N0-1 prostate cancer were included. Clinical information, including intended ADT duration and ARPI use, was prospectively collected. The primary outcome was intended guideline-concordant ADT (GC-ADT, ≥18 months). Multivariable analyses (MVA) assessed associations between clinical factors and GC-ADT recommendations. We compared the adoption of ARPI with standard therapies before and after the publication of STAMPEDE M0. Facility-level variability was evaluated using a mixed-effects model, with the treatment site as a random intercept. RESULTS Between June 2020 and November 2024, 553 patients across 26 centers were included: cT3/4 (13.3%), cN1 (19.9%), GG 4-5 (75.0%), and PSA ≥20 ng/mL (40.0%). Overall, 91.3% were recommended ADT, with 67.0% being guideline-concordant. On MVA, GC-ADT was significantly associated with cN1 (odds ratio [OR], 2.94 [95% CI, 1.44 to 5.99]), GG (GG4 OR, 6.23 [95% CI, 2.85 to 13.62]; GG5 OR, 9.45 [95% CI, 4.46 to 20.06]), and PSA ≥40 (OR, 3.64 [95% CI, 1.22–10.87]). Facility-level variability persisted in the MVA ( P &lt; .0001). Among the 27.9% who met meeting STAMPEDE criteria, ARPI recommendations increased from 0% prepublication to 23.2% afterward. CONCLUSION Within a statewide quality consortium, guideline-concordant ADT recommendations occurred in two thirds of patients, with ARPI intensification in under 25% among STAMPEDE-eligible patients. These findings highlight the need for individualized ADT strategies and collaborative efforts to standardize high-quality care.
Unclear

PROTEUS

TL;DRMost distant metastases were PSMA PET-detected (53.0% apalutamide, 60.7% comparator); no EFS or MFS effect size in source.

Why it mattersRadiation oncology

53.0% of distant mets in the apalutamide group were PSMA PET-detected vs 60.7% in the comparator, so the arms differ in how events were found, not only how often. MFS surrogacy was built in the conventional-imaging era, which is the read this complicates. No effect size in source.

Also covered Aug 29

8 details

MFS event ascertainment was PSMA PET-dominant: 53.0% of distant metastases in the apalutamide group and 60.7% in the comparator were identified by PET rather than conventional imaging. EFS is named in the thread, but no effect size for either endpoint appears in the source.

The contested question is whether a PET-detected metastasis is the same event MFS was built to count. A commentator's hypothetical, explicitly not trial data, models 100 pts per arm with 60 BCRs on ADT alone and 50 on apalutamide plus ADT to show how differential detection alone can widen an apparent gap.

The NEJM sentence quoted in the thread is truncated, so the 60.7% figure's arm label is inferred from a two-arm comparison rather than read directly. The full presentation has not occurred, and the source gives no phase, N, follow-up, or eligibility.

Results online but the source thread carries no EFS or MFS effect size, so no strength bucket is defensible; ascertainment concern noted, not adjudicated.

  • Whether the MFS separation holds under conventional-imaging-only ascertainment
  • Does the EFS signal translate to overall survival
  • How PSMA PET stage migration should be handled in MFS endpoints
📚 Sources · 🐦 3 tweets
📝 Note until the trial is released later this is preview
📝 note add commentary to proteus discussion
📝 add to proteus data
Unclear

RCC SBRT (5-year local control)

ForPrimary RCC treated with SBRT; stage and operability not stated in source

TL;DR100% local control at 5 years for RCC treated with SBRT, per a conference slide; no N, dose, or CI in source.

7 details

Not reported in source. The tweet gives a 5-year local control figure with no study type, N, institution, or registry identifier, so design cannot be inferred.

SBRT to primary RCC; dose, fractionation, number of fractions, and target definition are not reported in source. These are the parameters that gate transfer to practice, and none are available here.

100% local control at 5 years as stated in the source tweet. No confidence interval, no n-at-risk, and no statement of whether this is a Kaplan-Meier estimate or a crude proportion.

Beyond the missing design, the specific risk is effective follow-up: a medically inoperable RCC cohort loses pts to non-cancer death well before 5y, so a 100% figure can rest on very few pts at risk. Local control definition (RECIST-style size change vs absence of growth vs biopsy) is also unstated and swings the estimate.

Single tweet with one number, no N, design, dose, or LC definition. Cannot judge whether the 100% figure reflects efficacy or short effective follow-up.

  • Dose and fractionation behind the reported 5-year local control
  • Local control definition and n-at-risk at 5 years
  • SBRT vs partial nephrectomy in operable primary RCC
📚 Sources · 🐦 1 tweet
Unclear

DIREKHT

ForResected HNSCC referred for post-operative RT

TL;DRDe-escalated post-op HNSCC RT: contralateral neck sparing and primary CTV to 56 Gy in selected pts; no outcome numbers in source tweet.

Why it mattersRadiation oncology

The two levers named are the ones that gate post-op HNSCC RT morbidity: contralateral neck omission and a 56 Gy primary CTV rather than standard higher-dose coverage. Which pts qualified is the whole question, and the source text does not give the selection criteria or any control or toxicity numbers.

6 details

Two de-escalation levers reported in source: contralateral neck sparing in a specified subgroup, and reduction of the primary CTV dose to 56 Gy. Fractionation, technique, and the dose to involved or high-risk volumes are not stated in the source text.

Described as a trial, but phase, randomisation, N, sites, and follow-up are not stated in the source tweet.

No primary endpoint, effect size, or toxicity result reported in source. The tweet is commentary on the trial's approach, not its results.

resected HNSCC pts selected for post-operative RT de-escalation on criteria the source
does not specify. Does not represent unresected or definitive-RT HNSCC, nor resected pts outside whatever selection criteria the trial applied.

Everything that would let a reader act on this is missing from the source: the selection rule for contralateral neck omission, the comparator, and any locoregional control or late-toxicity figures. A de-escalation result is only interpretable against its non-inferiority margin, which is not given.

Source is a single commentary tweet with no design, N, endpoint, or effect size. Nothing to classify beyond the de-escalation concept.

  • Which pts qualify for contralateral neck sparing post-operatively
  • Whether 56 Gy primary CTV holds locoregional control vs standard dose
📚 Sources · 🐦 1 tweet