onc brain

About · curated by Nick Boehling, MD · @nb2276
Caveats dominate

NRG Oncology/RTOG 1112 NCT01730937

ForLocally advanced HCC, 74.0% MVI, local-regional tx unsuitable/refractory

Overall survival

HR 0.77

90% CI 0.59-1.01, 1-sided P=.06, not statistically significant

TL;DRmOS 15.8 vs 12.3 mo with SBRT + sorafenib vs sorafenib, HR 0.77 (90% CI 0.59-1.01), not significant; mPFS HR 0.55 in locally advanced HCC.

Why it mattersRadiation oncology

PFS carries the RT signal: HR 0.55 (95% CI 0.40-0.75) with personalized 27.5-50 Gy in 5 fractions, in a cohort with 74.0% macrovascular invasion and no rise in G3+ TRAE (47% vs 42%). In-liver control and failure patterns are not reported in source text, so the case for liver SBRT rests on PFS plus an adjusted OS HR.

Monday clinic

In locally advanced HCC with macrovascular invasion, unsuitable for or refractory to local-regional therapy, this supports weighing liver SBRT with first-line systemic therapy for progression control; it does not extend to pts on the newer systemic standard that ended accrual.

8 details 2 trials watching

Phase 3 randomized, multicenter, 1:1, stratified by performance status, liver function, degree of metastases and macrovascular invasion. 193 randomized, 177 eligible; data collected April 2013 to March 2021. Accrual stopped early after a change in standard-of-care systemic therapy.

HCC unsuitable for or refractory to standard local-regional therapies, candidates for first-line systemic therapy. Median age 66 (IQR 60-72), 84.7% male, macrovascular invasion 74.0%.

Sorafenib in both arms; the experimental arm received SBRT followed by sorafenib.

Personalized SBRT, 27.5 to 50 Gy in 5 fractions. Dose-selection rules, target volumes and OAR constraints not reported in source text.

Primary: overall survival. Secondary: PFS, adverse events, quality of life.

Primary OS not statistically significant on the unadjusted test; significant after stratification-factor adjustment. PFS clearly improved with SBRT; values in the table above.

EndpointSBRT + sorafenibSorafenibEffect size
Median OS (1° EP)15.8 mo (90% CI 11.4-19.2)12.3 mo (90% CI 10.6-14.3)HR 0.77 (90% CI 0.59-1.01), 1-sided P=.06
OS, adjusted for stratification factorsn/an/aHR 0.72 (95% CI 0.52-0.99), 2-sided P=.04
Median PFS9.2 mo (95% CI 7.5-11.9)5.5 mo (95% CI 3.4-6.3)HR 0.55 (95% CI 0.40-0.75), P<.001
G3+ treatment-related AEs39/83 (47%)37/88 (42%)P=.52
Improved QoL at 6 mo6/17 (35%)2/20 (10%)not reported

G3+ treatment-related AEs not increased with SBRT. Treatment-related deaths: 2 with sorafenib (death NOS, liver failure), 1 with SBRT plus sorafenib (lung infection).

Radioembolization trials against or combined with sorafenib (SARAH, SIRveNIB, SORAMIC) did not show an OS gain. START, which tested TACE plus RT against sorafenib in macrovascular invasion, favored the radiation-containing arm, and RTOG 1112 points the same direction with stereotactic delivery.

locally advanced HCC unsuitable for or refractory to local-regional therapy, 74.0% with macrovascular invasion, starting first-line sorafenib
Does not represent pts eligible for standard local-regional therapy or on newer first-line systemic regimens.

Analysis restricted to 177 eligible of 193 randomized. Local control and in-liver failure patterns not reported in source text, and personalized 27.5-50 Gy dosing confounds any dose-response read. QoL rests on 17 and 20 evaluable pts.

The authors call the OS gain clinically important but not statistically significant; adjusted OS and PFS point the same way, so underpowering after early closure is a more plausible reason for the miss than absence of effect. It does not settle whether SBRT adds to the systemic standard that replaced sorafenib.

Primary OS missed after accrual stopped early; positive OS read depends on stratification-adjusted analysis, with PFS the only unadjusted win.

📚 Sources · 📄 1 paper
📄 PAPER Dawson; Winter; Knox et al. · JAMA oncology (2025-02)
Stereotactic Body Radiotherapy vs Sorafenib Alone in Hepatocellular Carcinoma: The NRG Oncology/RTOG 1112 Phase 3 Randomized Clinical Trial.
Abstract
IMPORTANCE: Most patients with locally advanced hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) recur within the liver following systemic therapy.<br/><br/>OBJECTIVE: To determine whether stereotactic body radiation therapy (SBRT) improves outcomes in patients with locally advanced HCC compared with sorafenib alone.<br/><br/>DESIGN, SETTING, AND PARTICIPANTS: This multicenter phase 3 randomized clinical trial randomized patients with HCC 1:1 to sorafenib or SBRT followed by sorafenib, stratified by performance status, liver function, degree of metastases, and macrovascular invasion. Eligible patients had HCC unsuitable for or refractory to standard local-regional therapies and were candidates for first-line systemic therapy. Data were collected from April 2013 to March 2021, and data were analyzed from July 2022 to August 2023.<br/><br/>INTERVENTION: Personalized SBRT, 27.5 to 50 Gy in 5 fractions.<br/><br/>MAIN OUTCOMES AND MEASURES: The primary end point was overall survival (OS). Secondary end points were progression-free survival (PFS), adverse events, and quality of life.<br/><br/>RESULTS: Of 193 patients randomized, 177 were eligible. Accrual was stopped early due to a change in standard-of-care systemic therapy. Of 177 included patients, 150 (84.7%) were male, and the median (IQR) age was 66 (60-72) years. Macrovascular invasion was seen in 131 (74.0%). As of July 1, 2022, the median OS was 12.3 months (90% CI, 10.6-14.3) with sorafenib vs 15.8 months (90% CI, 11.4-19.2) following SBRT and sorafenib (hazard ratio [HR], 0.77; 90% CI, 0.59-1.01; 1-sided P&#x2009;=&#x2009;.06). Adjusting for stratification factors, OS was improved with SBRT (HR, 0.72; 95% CI, 0.52-0.99; 2-sided P&#x2009;=&#x2009;.04). Median PFS was improved from 5.5 months (95% CI, 3.4-6.3) with sorafenib to 9.2 months (95% CI, 7.5-11.9) with SBRT and sorafenib (HR, 0.55; 95% CI, 0.40-0.75; 2-sided P&#x2009;<&#x2009;.001). Treatment-related grade 3 or higher adverse events were seen in 37 of 88 (42%) and 39 of 83 (47%) of patients treated with sorafenib vs SBRT and sorafenib, respectively (P&#x2009;=&#x2009;.52). There were 2 treatment-related deaths in the sorafenib group (death not otherwise specified and liver failure) and 1 in the SBRT and sorafenib group (lung infection). At 6 months, improved quality of life was seen in 2 of 20 (10%) and 6 of 17 (35%) of patients treated with sorafenib and SBRT and sorafenib, respectively.<br/><br/>CONCLUSIONS AND RELEVANCE: In this phase 3 randomized clinical trial, among patients with locally advanced HCC, SBRT was associated with a clinically important but not statistically significant improved overall survival compared with sorafenib alone.<br/><br/>TRIAL REGISTRATION: ClinicalTrials.gov Identifier: NCT01730937.
📝 https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jamaoncology/fullarticle/2827892

The longer read

RTOG 1112 asked whether liver SBRT extends survival when added to first-line sorafenib in locally advanced HCC that local-regional therapy could not address, a population in which intrahepatic progression is the usual way the disease declares itself. On its own primary test the answer is no: OS HR 0.77 with a 90% CI of 0.59-1.01 and a one-sided P=.06. Every other efficacy read points the same way, though. Median OS moved from 12.3 to 15.8 mo, the stratification-adjusted OS HR was 0.72 (95% CI 0.52-0.99), and the PFS HR of 0.55 had an upper bound of 0.75. A trial that misses its primary endpoint while its secondary estimates cohere is more plausibly underpowered than null, and here there is a concrete reason for underpowering: accrual closed early when the systemic standard changed.

That reading still has limits a skeptic would press. The adjusted OS analysis is a secondary lens, and a reader should not promote it to the primary result because it crossed 0.05. The analysis covers 177 eligible pts out of 193 randomized, a departure from intention-to-treat whose direction of bias the source does not let us judge. The source also does not state how progression was assessed or whether imaging review was blinded, and post-SBRT liver changes can complicate response calls, which matters because PFS carries the strongest signal.

For a radiation oncologist the population is the point. Macrovascular invasion was present in 74.0%, the phenotype in which tumor thrombus threatens liver function and where systemic therapy alone has historically struggled to hold intrahepatic disease. The PFS gain is consistent with SBRT controlling the dominant liver burden, but local control and patterns of failure are not reported in source text, so that mechanism is inferred rather than shown. Dosing was personalized across 27.5 to 50 Gy in 5 fractions, which speaks to feasibility across a range of liver function but prevents any dose-response read. Toxicity did not obviously rise: grade 3+ treatment-related AEs were 47% vs 42% (P=.52), with 1 treatment-related death after SBRT plus sorafenib against 2 with sorafenib alone. The quality-of-life difference, 35% vs 10% improved at 6 mo, sits on 17 and 20 evaluable pts and should be read as hypothesis only.

Against prior liver-directed radiation data, the result lines up with START, which tested TACE plus RT against sorafenib in macrovascular invasion and favored the radiation-containing arm, and departs from the radioembolization trials SARAH, SIRveNIB and SORAMIC, none of which showed an OS gain against or alongside sorafenib. RTOG 1112 is a multicenter phase 3 test of stereotactic external-beam delivery in this setting, so its direction deserves attention even with the missed P value.

The open problem is transfer. The increment was measured against sorafenib, and the change in systemic standard that ended accrual means its size on a newer backbone is unknown. A more active systemic regimen could shrink the benefit by controlling liver disease itself, or enlarge it by holding extrahepatic disease long enough that intrahepatic control decides survival. That question, more than this trial's P value, determines whether liver SBRT becomes routine in first-line advanced HCC.