onc brain

About · curated by Nick Boehling, MD · @nb2276

2026-06-16

digest generated 2026-08-11

DOREMY: 36 Gy/18fx preop RT in myxoid liposarcoma gives 5yr LRFS 97.4% at median f/u 66.4mo, a 14 Gy de-escalation off the 50 Gy standard.
Sarcoma carried the day on dose de-escalation: DOREMY holds near-total local control at 36 Gy preop in MLS, though single-arm against historic 50 Gy series and histology-specific. Prostate adds an ADT-selection read for men on pelvic RT, with relugolix showing 68.9 mm³ less 12-mo plaque accrual than leuprolide on a surrogate CCTA endpoint.

Sarcoma

Preop RT dose de-escalation in a radiosensitive histology, benchmarked against historic 50 Gy series rather than a randomised arm.

Early signal

DOREMY NCT02106312

ForLocalized translocation-confirmed myxoid liposarcoma, trunk or extremity, resectable

TL;DR5yr LRFS 97.4% after 36Gy/18fx preop RT in myxoid liposarcoma, wound complications 21%, median f/u 66.4mo.

Why it mattersRadiation oncology

The number that moves the dose decision is 97.4% 5yr LRFS at 36 Gy, matched to a 21% wound complication rate, with only 3% late G3. Dose is 2 Gy daily to 36 Gy preop, standard fractionation, so it transfers directly. This is a de-escalation read confined to translocation-confirmed MLS.

Monday clinic

In localized translocation-confirmed myxoid liposarcoma of trunk or extremity going to resection, this supports 36 Gy preop as a discussed option in place of 50 Gy; it does not extend to other soft tissue sarcoma histologies, which were not enrolled.

The longer read
10 details 1 trial watching

Prospective, single-group, phase 2 nonrandomized trial across 9 tertiary sarcoma centers in Europe and the US. Enrollment ran November 2010 to May 2020; data analyzed January to December 2025. Median follow-up 66.4 months (IQR 48.8-87.5).

Adults with biopsy-proven and translocation-confirmed localized myxoid liposarcoma of the trunk or extremity. N=90, mean age 47 (SD 13.1), 50 (56%) male.

Preoperative RT to a reduced dose of 36 Gy in once-daily 2-Gy fractions, followed by resection. Delivered per protocol in all patients. Three pts (3%) did not proceed to surgery because of intercurrent metastatic disease.

Long-term local recurrence-free survival, progression-free survival, disease-specific survival, overall survival, and late toxic effects. No single stated primary endpoint for this long-term analysis.

Wound complications in 18 pts (21%), with 14 (16%) requiring intervention. Late toxic effects were grade 2 in 13 pts (15%) and grade 3 in 3 pts (3%).

localized translocation-confirmed myxoid liposarcoma of trunk or extremity treated with preoperative RT then resection
Does not represent other soft tissue sarcoma histologies, retroperitoneal disease, or metastatic presentations.

The authors argue the long-term data support adopting 36 Gy as an option through shared decision-making, explicitly on the grounds that a phase 3 trial is impractical in a rare cancer. That is an argument about feasibility, not about evidence level, and the reader should price it as such.

Fourteen-year accrual window spans changing surgical and imaging practice, so the wound complication rate reflects a long era rather than current technique. Late toxicity is reported only as pooled grade counts, without organ or site attribution, which limits comparison against 50 Gy series.

Endpoint5yr rate95% CI
Local recurrence-free survival97.4%93.9-100%
Progression-free survival81.0%72.6-89.4%
Disease-specific survival89.5%82.6-96.4%
Overall survival88.5%81.2-95.8%

Single-arm phase 2, no randomised 50 Gy comparator; authors concede phase 3 impractical in a rare histology. Long f/u strengthens but does not replace randomisation.

Sourced from Lansu et al.

📚 Sources · 📄 1 paper
📄 PAPER Lansu; Bovée; Braam et al. · JAMA oncology (2026-05)
Dose Reduction of Preoperative Radiotherapy in Myxoid Liposarcoma: The Phase 2 DOREMY Nonrandomized Clinical Trial.
Abstract
IMPORTANCE: Prospective data from 2 phase 2 trials showed favorable wound complication rates and promising local control after a reduced preoperative radiotherapy dose for myxoid liposarcoma (MLS). However, long-term follow-up data are currently lacking.<br/><br/>OBJECTIVE: To determine the efficacy and toxicity profile of a reduced preoperative radiotherapy dose in patients with MLS with long-term follow-up.<br/><br/>DESIGN, SETTING, AND PARTICIPANTS: The Dose Reduction of Preoperative Radiotherapy in Myxoid Liposarcoma (DOREMY) trial is a prospective, single-group, phase 2 nonrandomized clinical trial conducted in 9 tertiary sarcoma centers in Europe and the US. Eligible patients were adults with biopsy-proven and translocation-confirmed localized MLS of the trunk or extremity who were enrolled from November 24, 2010, to May 14, 2020. Data were analyzed from January to December 2025.<br/><br/>INTERVENTION: Preoperative radiotherapy to a reduced dose of 36 Gy in once-daily 2-Gy fractions followed by resection.<br/><br/>MAIN OUTCOMES AND MEASURES: Long-term local recurrence-free survival, progression-free survival, disease-specific survival, overall survival, and late toxic effects.<br/><br/>RESULTS: Ninety patients (mean [SD] age, 47 [13.1] years; 50 [56%] male) were included and followed up for a median (IQR) of 66.4 (48.8-87.5) months. Preoperative radiotherapy was delivered according to protocol in all patients. Surgery was not performed in 3 patients (3%) due to intercurrent metastatic disease. Local recurrence-free survival, progression-free survival, disease-specific survival, and overall survival rates at 5 years were 97.4% (95% CI, 93.9%-100%), 81.0% (95% CI, 72.6%-89.4%), 89.5% (95% CI, 82.6%-96.4%), and 88.5% (95% CI, 81.2%-95.8%), respectively. In total, 18 patients (21%) experienced a wound complication, and 14 (16%) required intervention. Any grade 2 or grade 3 late toxic effects were seen among 13 patients (15%) and 3 patients (3%), respectively.<br/><br/>CONCLUSIONS AND RELEVANCE: This long-term analysis of the DOREMY nonrandomized clinical trial demonstrated excellent local control and a favorable toxicity profile following dose reduction of preoperative radiotherapy in patients with MLS. These compelling phase 2 findings support adoption of this regimen as an appropriate treatment option through shared decision-making with the patient, given the impracticality of conducting a phase 3 trial for a rare cancer.<br/><br/>TRIAL REGISTRATION: ClinicalTrials.gov Identifier: NCT02106312.
📝 42141895

Prostate

ADT agent choice as a cardiovascular decision for men already committed to pelvic RT, read on imaging rather than events.

Early signal

REVELUTION

ForNon-metastatic intermediate/high-risk prostate cancer receiving definitive RT + ADT

Change in total coronary plaque volume at 12 months surrogate

68.9 mm³ adjusted mean difference

Leuprolide vs relugolix; crude 56 vs 25 mm³. CI/p not reported in source

TL;DRAdjusted 12-mo total plaque volume rose 68.9 mm³ more with leuprolide vs relugolix in men getting prostate RT.

Reported via UroToday →

Why it mattersRadiation oncology

Every man here got prostate ± pelvic nodal RT, so this is an RT-clinic decision, not a med-onc one: for the 6-month ADT course you prescribe alongside definitive RT, the agonist added 68.9 mm³ of adjusted total plaque volume at 12 months, driven by non-calcified plaque. A radiation-alone control cohort was enrolled in parallel, though its comparison was not reported in source.

Monday clinic

For the intermediate/high-risk man starting definitive prostate RT with 6+ months of concurrent ADT, particularly with elevated ASCVD 10-year risk, this supports weighing agent choice on cardiovascular grounds; it says nothing about ADT duration or about men on ADT without RT.

The longer read
11 details 4 trials watching

Single-institution, parallel-cohort, open-label randomized trial across four Emory-affiliated centers, enrolling June 2020 to 2024. ADT-eligible pts randomized 1:1 relugolix vs leuprolide, stratified by ASCVD 10-year risk score; a parallel prospective RT-alone cohort was enrolled as control.

94 men with non-metastatic prostate cancer, intermediate and high risk, all treated with pelvic radiotherapy to the prostate with or without pelvic nodes. Lower-risk men eligible for definitive RT alone without planned ADT formed the parallel arm.

Relugolix 360 mg day 1, then 120 mg daily; leuprolide in 3-month depots. ADT given for at least six months, longer by cancer risk tier.

All pts received pelvic radiotherapy to the prostate with or without the pelvic lymph nodes. Dose, fractionation and technique are not reported in source.

Primary: change in total plaque volume. Secondary: changes in plaque subtypes (non-calcified, calcified, low-attenuation). Serial CCTA at baseline (within 7 days of treatment start) and 12 months, blinded to arm, quantified by the automated HeartFlow tool; 12-month mean difference by ANCOVA adjusted for age, statin use and baseline plaque volume.

The adjusted total-plaque-volume difference of 68.9 mm³ favouring relugolix was driven mainly by non-calcified plaque; calcified and low-attenuation plaque showed no significant difference with low absolute change. Per-arm CIs and p-values are not reported in source.

MeasureLeuprolideRelugolix
Total plaque volume, crude difference56 mm³25 mm³
intermediate and high-risk non-metastatic prostate cancer men receiving definitive pelvic radiotherapy with concurrent ADT of six months or longer
Does not represent metastatic or castration-resistant disease, men on ADT without radiotherapy, or men with a clinical cardiovascular event endpoint.

HERO (2020) showed a lower MACE rate with relugolix vs leuprolide and drove the FDA approval, but offered no mechanism, since both agents suppress testosterone comparably and share the hypogonadal metabolic profile. REVELUTION supplies the candidate mechanism, accelerated coronary atherosclerosis under GnRH agonism, consistent with the 2010s observational signal that agonists carry higher cardiovascular risk than orchiectomy.

The imaging endpoint is validated as a predictor of MACE, not a substitute for it, and 12 months is short for plaque trajectories. The parallel RT-alone cohort was not randomized against either ADT arm, so the no-hormone comparison is observational and cannot isolate radiotherapy's own contribution to plaque change.

If the agonist-antagonist difference is real and mechanistic, the decision it moves is which ADT agent accompanies definitive RT in a man with baseline cardiovascular risk, not whether to give ADT at all. It does not establish that changing agent prevents events; that inference still rests on HERO.

Small single-institution randomized trial with an imaging surrogate (plaque volume), not clinical MACE. Supplies a mechanism for HERO rather than independent outcome evidence.

📚 Sources · 📄 1 paper
📄 PAPER · UroToday
REVELUTION Trial: A Comparative Study of GnRH Agonist and Antagonist on Coronary Plaque in Prostate Cancer - Sagar Patel
Abstract
UroToday - GU OncToday brings coverage of the clinically relevant content needed to stay at the forefront of the dynamic field of GU oncology and urology.
📝 https://www.urotoday.com/video-lectures/prostate-cancer/video/5353-revelution-trial-a-comparative-study-of-gnrh-agonist-and-antagonist-on-coronary-plaque-in-prostate-cancer-sagar-patel.html?mtm_campaign=Patel_SocialVideo_ID5353