Consensus
GUAM international consensus guideline on GU adverse events after prostate RT
ForProstate cancer pts receiving definitive or post-RP RT with GU toxicity
TL;DRDelphi panel (48 experts, ≥75% agreement): 76% favor moderate hypofx over SBRT at baseline IPSS 15–19; no dose-volume constraint reached consensus.
Reported via UroToday →
The technique read is that baseline IPSS now gates fractionation: 76% favored moderate hypofx over SBRT at IPSS 15–19, and MIRAGE (2-mm MRI-guided margins, late G≥2 GU 51% → 27%) was the margin evidence cited. Yet no bladder or urethral dose-volume constraint reached consensus, so planning-level GU sparing still rests on institutional choice.
In an intact-prostate pt with baseline IPSS 15–19 weighing SBRT vs moderate hypofx, this panel leaned toward moderate hypofx; it does not address post-RP pts, and at IPSS ≥20 the question shifts toward urology referral for an outlet procedure before RT. The longer read
Baseline IPSS now formally gates fractionation: 76% favored moderate hypofx over SBRT at IPSS 15–19, with full bladder endorsed by 85%. MIRAGE margins were cited, but no bladder or urethral dose-volume constraint reached consensus, so planning limits stay institutional.
For urologic surgeons, the timing question is answered: 94% would wait ≥8 weeks after an outlet procedure before RT, and 85% would consider a prophylactic procedure for severe LUTS, but 95% not when irritative symptoms predominate. The IPSS ≥20 referral trigger drew 74%, just below the consensus bar.
12 details 2 trials watching
Systematic review (183 articles) plus 3-round modified Delphi, May 2025 to Feb 2026. Consensus = ≥75% agreement; independent peer review, endorsed by ASTRO and ESTRO.
Panel of 48 experts from 15 countries: 34 radiation oncologists, 7 medical oncologists, 7 urologic oncologists across North America, Europe, Asia and Australia. Scope: acute medical mgmt, RT technique, outlet obstruction, urology referral, HBOT.
76% favored moderate hypofx over SBRT at baseline IPSS 15–19; 85% endorsed a full bladder at sim and treatment. No specific dose-volume constraint reached consensus.
Intact prostate: alpha blockers first for obstructive, anti-spasmodics first for irritative symptoms; post-RP: anti-spasmodics first. 80% against prophylactic medication; 80% add a 2nd agent rather than switch.
MIRAGE was cited for margin reduction (late G≥2 GU 51% → 27% with 2-mm MRI-guided vs 4-mm CT-guided). CHHiP, PROFIT, RTOG 0415 and HYDRA were cited as showing no consistent late GU excess with moderate hypofx; RICH-ART supports HBOT for radiation cystitis.
Several reported positions (74% IPSS ≥20 referral, 66% ≥12-wk wait, 52% SBRT after outlet procedure) fall below the ≥75% consensus bar. Panel is radonc-weighted, and this read comes from a conference summary, not the full manuscript.
Formalizes IPSS as a fractionation and referral gate and standardizes symptom-directed pharmacotherapy. It leaves dose-volume constraints, urethral contouring reliability and RT-specific drug evidence open; BEFORE, RadTARGET, RELIEF and DESTINATION-2 are named as ongoing.
| Setting | Preferred 1st line | Subsequent options (in order) |
|---|---|---|
| Intact prostate, obstructive | Alpha blockers | PDE5-Is, NSAIDs, steroids, anti-spasmodics |
| Intact prostate, irritative | Anti-spasmodics | Alpha blockers, NSAIDs, phenazopyridine, cranberry |
| Post-prostatectomy | Anti-spasmodics | Not specified in source |
| Recommendation | Agreement |
|---|---|
| No prophylactic GU medication before symptom onset | 80% |
| Add 2nd agent rather than switch if 1st line inadequate | 80% |
| Alpha blockers do not/probably do not help post-RP | 74% |
| Moderate hypofx over SBRT at baseline IPSS 15–19 | 76% |
| Full bladder at simulation and treatment | 85% |
| Refer for outlet procedure at IPSS ≥20 | 74% |
| Wait ≥8 wk after outlet procedure before RT | 94% |
| Wait ≥12 wk after outlet procedure before RT | 66% |
| SBRT safe after outlet procedure once obstruction resolved | 52% |
| Prophylactic outlet procedure for severe LUTS | 85% |
| No outlet procedure when irritative symptoms predominate | 95% |
| IPSS threshold | Panelists |
|---|---|
| 10–14 | 16% |
| 15–19 | 61% |
| 20–24 | 21% |
| ≥25 | 2% |
| IPSS threshold | Panelists |
|---|---|
| 15–19 | 34% |
| 20–24 | 47% |
| 25–29 | 15% |
| ≥30 | 4% |
Delphi consensus over a systematic review; agreement figures are opinion, not outcomes. First RT-specific GU toxicity framework, with core technique questions left unresolved.
- Optimal bladder and urethral dose-volume constraints for GU toxicity recruiting Daily Adaptive Radiation Therapy Using an Individualized Approach for Prostate Cancer Phase NAn=132 · primary completion 2027-01 · urethral-sparing adaptive SBRT, EPIC-26 urinary primary EPn=42 · primary completion 2028-01 · SUPR-SABR urethral sparing, GU tox vs historical SABR
- RT-specific evidence for alpha blockers and anti-spasmodics
- Reliability of urethral contouring for sparing
📚 Sources · 📄 1 paper
Abstract
ASTRO Clinical Practice Guideline: RT for Bladder Cancer
ForBladder cancer, high-grade cT1 NMIBC through metastatic disease
TL;DRTMT recommended (strong, high QoE) as alternative to RC for select cT2-4aN0M0 MIBC; bladder-alone 5500 cGy/20 fx or 6400-6480 cGy/32-36 fx.
Elective pelvic nodes stay conditional: no validated RCT vs bladder-only RT, and bladder-only series show ~7% pelvic nodal recurrence. Prostate and proximal urethra are conditionally added for base/neck, T4 or prostatic urethral involvement. Investigational concurrent IO warrants caution with moderately hypofractionated whole-pelvis chemoRT or >400 cGy/fx.
In select cT2-4aN0M0 MIBC (solitary, <7 cm, no extensive CIS or hydronephrosis), this supports TMT with concurrent chemo as an alternative to RC; it gives only conditional, expert-opinion support to consolidative local therapy in cN2-3M0 disease after systemic response. The longer read
Elective pelvic nodes stay conditional: no validated RCT vs bladder-only RT, and bladder-only series show ~7% pelvic nodal recurrence. Prostate and proximal urethra are conditionally added for base/neck, T4 or prostatic urethral involvement. Investigational concurrent IO warrants caution with moderately hypofractionated whole-pelvis chemoRT or >400 cGy/fx.
Concurrent chemo is the preferred radiosensitizer (cisplatin ± 5-FU, 5-FU + mitomycin-C, low-dose gemcitabine), with neoadjuvant/induction systemic therapy for cT3-4 or N1-3 disease graded strong on low QoE. Perioperative chemo-IO and ADC-IO have no comparative TMT data, and concurrent checkpoint inhibitors stay investigational pending SWOG/NRG 1806.
TMT is graded a strong, high-QoE alternative to RC for select cT2-4aN0M0 MIBC, and for cN1M0 after neoadjuvant therapy TMT and RC sit side by side. A maximal, not necessarily visibly complete, TURBT precedes chemoRT, and MIBC relapse after TMT goes to salvage RC.
8 details 3 trials watching
Clinical practice guideline, not a trial. Systematic review of Ovid MEDLINE and Embase, January 2009 to November 18, 2024, yielding 153 studies; retrospective series limited to ≥65 pts (KQ1) and ≥100 pts (KQ2). Consensus by modified Delphi, threshold ≥75% agreement (≥90% for expert-opinion recs).
Adults (≥18 years) with bladder cancer treated with RT, across 4 KQs: bladder preservation, intact-bladder technique and dose, postoperative RT, noncurative RT. Out of scope: surgical management of MIBC, systemic-therapy specifics, intravesical therapy.
Preferred concurrent radiosensitizers: cisplatin ± 5-FU, 5-FU + mitomycin-C, or low-dose gemcitabine; carbogen and nicotinamide an alternative. Capecitabine ± mitomycin-C or single-agent 5-FU for pts ineligible for those agents.
Simulation and daily treatment supine with empty bladder and rectum; fiducials help delineate a tumor boost. 2 to 4 weeks from maximal TURBT to RT is typical, and post-TMT cystoscopy with biopsy follows at 8 to 12 weeks.
Caution, not absolute contraindication, for active inflammatory bowel disease, prior pelvic RT, or severely reduced bladder capacity. Elective nodal coverage is weighed against bowel toxicity.
Prior RTOG and NRG studies put the prostate in the field under 3-D CRT; the guideline narrows that to base/neck, T4 or prostatic urethral involvement. SWOG/NRG 1806 allowed bladder-only or bladder plus pelvic nodes, which the task force reads as equipoise on elective nodal coverage. Bladder-only series report ~7% pelvic nodal recurrence.
Search closed November 18, 2024 and excluded abstract-only reports. Histology guidance rests mostly on pure urothelial data, and ctDNA after TMT is not yet prospectively validated.
TMT is framed as curative treatment alongside RC within multidisciplinary shared decision-making, not a fallback for unfit pts. The guideline names access as the binding constraint: Black pts with MIBC are less likely to receive curative-intent cystectomy or chemoRT.
| Scenario | Recommendation | Strength | QoE |
|---|---|---|---|
| Select cT2-4aN0M0 MIBC | TMT as alternative to RC | Strong | High |
| High-grade cT1N0M0 NMIBC, T1 recurrence, cystectomy declined/ineligible | TMT or clinical trial | Conditional | Low |
| cN1M0 | TMT or RC after neoadjuvant/induction systemic therapy | Strong | Low |
| cN2-3M0, stable/responding after systemic therapy | Consolidative local therapy | Conditional | Expert opinion |
| Any TMT | Concurrent radiosensitizing systemic therapy | Strong | High (chemo); Moderate (carbogen/nicotinamide) |
| TMT, cT3-4 or N1-3 | Neoadjuvant/induction systemic therapy | Strong | Low |
| Bladder preservation | Maximal TURBT before chemoRT | Strong | Low |
| Setting | Dose-fractionation | Strength | QoE |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bladder alone, intact cT1-4N0M0 | 5500 cGy/20 fx or 6400-6480 cGy/32-36 fx | Strong | High |
| cT1N0M0 option | 6120 cGy/34 fx | Ungraded remark | n/a |
| Bladder + elective nodes, cT2-4N0M0 | Nodes + bladder 4000-4600 cGy, bladder boost to 6400-6480 cGy/32-36 fx | Strong | Low |
| Nodal alternative | Nodes 4000-4400 cGy/20 fx, bladder 5500 cGy/20 fx | Ungraded remark | n/a |
| Gross nodes, cT2-4N1-3M0 | Focal boost, tolerance-dependent; up to 6400-6480 cGy/32-36 fx | Conditional | Low |
| Escalation above 6400-6480 cGy | Not outside trial or multi-institutional registry | Strong | Moderate |
| Schedule | Daily RT, no mid-treatment break for cystoscopic assessment | Strong | Moderate |
| Recommendation | Strength | QoE |
|---|---|---|
| Whole bladder full dose, or reduced dose to uninvolved bladder + partial tumor boost (cT2-4N0-3M0) | Strong | Moderate |
| Elective pelvic nodes optional in cT2-4N0M0; higher-risk features (cT3-4, hydronephrosis, LVI, incomplete TURBT) | Conditional | Moderate |
| Prostate/proximal urethra for base/neck tumors, T4, or prostatic urethral involvement | Conditional | Moderate |
| IMRT/VMAT with daily CBCT to verify bladder volume | Strong | Low |
| Adaptive RT when coverage/OAR constraints or setup reproducibility fail | Conditional | Moderate |
ASTRO guideline from systematic review (153 studies) plus modified Delphi; output is graded recommendations, not outcomes. Elective nodal RT and adjuvant RT stay conditional.
- Elective pelvic nodal RT vs bladder-only RT in cN0 MIBC
- Concurrent checkpoint inhibitor added to TMT chemoRT n=520 · primary completion 2027-01 · phase 3 pembro + CRT vs CRT alone, N0M0 MIBCactive Chemoradiotherapy With or Without Atezolizumab in Treating Patients With Localized Muscle Invasive Bladder Cancer Phase 3n=475 · primary completion 2027-06 · phase 3 CRT ± atezolizumab in localized MIBC
- 5-fraction adaptive RT vs moderate hypofractionation recruiting Testing Shorter Duration Radiation Therapy Versus the Usual Radiation Therapy in Patients Receiving the Usual Chemotherapy Treatment for Bladder Cancer, ARCHER Study Phase 3n=486 · primary completion 2030-05 · phase 3 ultra-hypofx vs hypofx chemoRT, cT2-T3N0M0
📚 Sources · 📄 1 paper
BEACON-HCC
ForHCC across all stages, North American practice context
TL;DRNew North American HCC allocation framework; expert decisions 96.6% concordant with BEACON vs 72.4% with BCLC 2025 across 29 cases.
First major allocation framework to place EBRT/SBRT alongside TARE as a first-line locoregional option rather than a BCLC afterthought, extending to Class 1D (Vp1-2) and Class 3B (Vp3/4). The panel's own citation base for Class 3B is RTOG1112, which showed only a trend (p=0.06) for SBRT vs sorafenib, so the elevation runs ahead of randomised evidence.
For a cirrhotic patient with unifocal HCC not eligible for resection or transplant, this framework treats SBRT as a legitimate first-line ablative option rather than a fallback; it does not apply to Class 4A, where the panel explicitly withholds EBRT outside symptom palliation. The longer read
SBRT enters the allocation boxes as a first-line locoregional option across Classes 1A through 3A, not a salvage line, which changes referral expectations at tumor board. No dose or fractionation is specified anywhere in the framework, and the Class 3B citation is RTOG1112 at p=0.06, so the elevation runs ahead of randomised evidence.
The framework pushes back on reflexive systemic therapy for macrovascular invasion: Class 1D (Vp1-2) is routed to local or surgical options, and adjuvant therapy after complete response is explicitly not recommended. Systemic therapy stays the cornerstone only for Class 3B, 4A, and 4B.
Resection is preferred without CSPH, transplant with it, and both extend beyond early stage after downstaging response. Class 3B carries a cited RCT showing resection after neoadjuvant radiation beat up-front resection, and Vp1-2 patients with deep durable responses become transplant candidates rather than automatic exclusions.
9 details 4 trials watching
Modified Delphi consensus, 20 North American multidisciplinary experts, iterative discussion and voting over two rounds. Followed by a 29-case pilot concordance exercise against external experts.
Framework spans the full HCC spectrum, from unifocal ≤3 cm (Class 1A) to distant metastases (Class 4B). Class assignment keys on tumor burden, Vp level of portal invasion, and poor prognostic features (>8 cm, AFP >1000 ng/mL, poor differentiation).
EBRT including SBRT is named a first-line locoregional option in Classes 1A through 3A, on par with TARE, RFA/MWA, and TACE. No dose or fractionation is specified anywhere in the framework: the stated rationale is ablative dose delivered selectively to limit radiation-induced liver injury. In Class 4A, EBRT is not routinely indicated outside palliation of symptomatic disease.
Expert decisions matched BEACON in 28 of 29 cases (96.6%) vs 72.4% for BCLC 2025. The single discordant case was combination systemic plus locoregional therapy for vascular invasion reaching the right atrium.
| BEACON class | BCLC 2025 | AJCC v8 | Adaptation from BCLC |
|---|---|---|---|
| Class 1A | Very early (0) or early (A) | Stage 1A or 1B | Aligned; framework elevates SBRT and TARE |
| Class 1B | Early (A) | Stage 1B | Aligned |
| Class 1C | Early (A) | Stage 2 | Aligned |
| Class 1D | Advanced (C) | Stage 2 | Macrovascular invasion may suit local or surgical therapy: TARE, SBRT, resection |
| Class 2 | Early (A) | Stage 1A or 1B | Aligned; framework elevates SBRT and TARE |
| Class 3A | Intermediate (B) or advanced (C) | Stage 3A | Aligned; framework elevates SBRT and TARE |
| Class 3B | Advanced (C) | Stage 3B or 4A | Macrovascular invasion may be amenable to local therapy in selected cases |
| Class 4A | Intermediate (B) | Stage 3A | Extensive intrahepatic spread treated as systemic process |
| Class 4B | Advanced (C) | Stage 4B | Stage and treatment framework aligned |
BCLC keeps radiation outside its core allocation algorithm; BEACON moves it in. The supporting evidence the panel cites is uneven: DOSISPHERE (ORR 71 vs 36%, OS 26.6 vs 10.7 mo) for personalized-dosimetry TARE is randomised, while the SBRT case in Class 3B rests on RTOG1112, which reached only p=0.06 for OS vs sorafenib.
The 72.4% BCLC comparator was scored by BEACON's own authors against cases the same group selected, and 29 cases cannot exercise nine classes evenly. Round-1 per-class agreement is unreadable from the source table because vote counts and class labels arrived unpaired.
The framework's real claim is that intrahepatic burden and Vp level, not BCLC's stage buckets, should drive allocation, and that radiation-based modalities are burden-appropriate rather than stage-restricted. Whether that improves outcomes is untested: validation against empiric clinical data is deferred to the HCC-Live Consortium.
Delphi consensus framework, not an efficacy study. Concordance figures measure opinion against opinion. Elevates EBRT/TARE to first-line locoregional status in a formal allocation system.
- Head-to-head SBRT vs TARE for liver-confined HCC n=146 · primary completion 2028-12 · randomised phase 2 TARE vs SBRT, =3 HCC lesionsrecruiting Comparison of SBRT and SIRT With Combination IO for Locally-advanced, Unresectable HCCs (BIIRTH) Phase 2/3n=106 · primary completion 2034-03 · TACE-SBRT vs Y90 SIRT, PFS primary
- Does BEACON allocation improve survival vs BCLC allocation
- Optimal sequencing of ICI with locoregional therapy active Durvalumab/Tremelimumab in Neoadjuvant and Adjuvant Setting in Patients With HCC Treated by by Percutaneous Ablation Procedure Phase 2n=30 · primary completion 2027-09 · durva/treme before and after percutaneous ablationrecruiting Using Radiotherapy and Immunotherapy to Treat Advanced Liver Cancer Before Transplant Phase 1/2n=48 · primary completion 2031-06 · Y90/SBRT plus atezo-bev, transplant conversion
📚 Sources · 📄 1 paper
Abstract
IROCK RCC SABR contouring guidelines
ForLocalized RCC treated with SABR, incl. IVC thrombus, recurrence, post-RFA
TL;DRFirst international consensus on target delineation for localized RCC SABR: 16 experts, median DSC 0.85 vs consensus, >0.70 in every case.
The two contested target calls are settled: include the entire tumor thrombus and the entire RFA cavity, and these were also the cases with most variation (DSC 0.85 and 0.75; HD 64.60 mm in Case 1). The 5 mm PTV assumes 4DCT, vacuum cushion, IV contrast and daily CBCT, so a center without those shouldn't copy the margin.
In a medically inoperable localized RCC with IVC tumor thrombus or recurrence after RFA, this supports covering the full thrombus or full ablation cavity in the iGTV; it does not settle the dose or fraction number, which the panel left institution-specific. The longer read
The two contested target calls are settled: include the entire tumor thrombus and the entire RFA cavity, the cases with most variation (DSC 0.85 and 0.75). The 5 mm PTV assumes 4DCT, vacuum cushion, IV contrast and daily CBCT, so it does not transfer unchanged to other workflows.
10 details
Contouring consensus: 16 IROCK radiation oncologists contoured 4 CT-only cases; a STAPLE algorithm produced the 95% consensus contour, refined over 2 online meetings (May and June 2024) until 100% agreement on statements.
Panel eligibility: ≥10 RCC SABR cases treated; 14 of 16 had treated ≥10 pts in the prior 12 months. Cases: >10 cm tumor with IVC thrombus, central tumor at the hilum, post-nephrectomy recurrence, post-RFA residual.
iGTV equals ITV since no microscopic-spread margin is added. Most common PTV: uniform 5 mm on iGTV with supine vacuum cushion, 4DCT, IV contrast and daily CBCT. Participants used 1, 3, or 5 fractions; OAR constraints drawn from FASTRACK-II and AQuOS-II protocols.
Overall median DSC 0.85 (range 0.40-0.95), MDA 2.17 mm, HD 9.00 mm; median DSC >0.70 in every case. Greatest variation in Case 1 (superior thrombus extent) and Case 4 (cavity inclusion).
| Case | Scenario | iGTV recommendation |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Tumor >10 cm with IVC tumor thrombus | Primary tumor + entire tumor thrombus; exclude bland thrombus |
| 2 | Central tumor abutting renal hilum | All visible tumor, account for internal motion; may extend into hilum |
| 3 | Local recurrence post-nephrectomy | All visible gross tumor; surgical clips need not be included |
| 4 | Residual tumor post-RFA | Visible gross recurrence + entire ablation cavity |
| Case | DSC | MDA (mm) | HD (mm) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 0.85, 0.79-0.85 | 6.69, 5.88-8.79 | 64.60, 64.44-86.40 |
| 2 | 0.90, 0.84-0.93 | 1.55, 1.00-2.09 | 7.92, 5.35-9.98 |
| 3 | 0.91, 0.88-0.93 | 1.42, 1.18-1.89 | 6.18, 6.00-7.12 |
| 4 | 0.75, 0.60-0.79 | 2.50, 2.12-2.99 | 9.00, 9.00-12.39 |
FASTRACK-II established prospective phase II support for RCC SABR; this document standardizes the target and OAR definitions that trial-era protocols left variable. AQuOS-II is prospectively testing whether ipsilateral parenchyma and hilum contours matter for toxicity.
CT-only images; MRI might have reduced variation. Participants did not recontour after consensus, so the post-consensus agreement is assumed rather than measured.
The guideline chooses OAR priority over coverage and accepts heterogeneous target dose, which trades some target coverage for bowel safety. Whether hilum or cortex sparing reduces renal toxicity remains unanswered and is deliberately left optional.
Expert contouring consensus; agreement metrics measure contour overlap, not outcome. Standardizes target definition for an emerging indication; not validated prospectively.
- Does renal hilum or cortex sparing reduce renal toxicity?
- Patterns of failure with the 5 mm PTV margin
- Does MRI-based contouring reduce target variation?
📚 Sources · 📄 1 paper
EANO Consensus Statement on Radiation Necrosis
ForPost-cranial-RT pts with a new enhancing lesion, glioma or brain metastases
TL;DRDelphi consensus: 53/57 statements reached ≥80% agreement across 20 experts; perfusion MRI + amino acid PET preferred, bevacizumab for steroid-refractory RN.
The dose-volume numbers are the transferable part: V12Gy ~10 cm³ carrying 5-10% symptomatic necrosis in single-fraction SRS, and hypofractionated brain+target V20Gy (3fx) or V24Gy (5fx) <20 cm³ holding RN needing resection under 4%. That is a planning constraint, and it gates the single-session vs hypofractionated choice for larger or eloquent-region metastases.
For a patient 6-24 months out from SRS or cranial RT with a new enhancing lesion, this supports going to perfusion MRI plus amino acid PET before calling progression; it does not settle mixed lesions, where the panel still points to tissue. The longer read
The planning-relevant numbers: V12Gy ~10 cm³ carries 5-10% symptomatic necrosis after single-fraction SRS, while hypofractionated brain+target V20Gy (3fx) or V24Gy (5fx) <20 cm³ keeps RN requiring resection under 4%. Re-irradiation risk climbs to 25% above cumulative EQD2 130 Gy, which constrains repeat SRS for lesions over 2.0-3.0 cm.
Bevacizumab moves from rescue to a triggered step at steroid dependence >4 weeks or dexamethasone 8 mg/day, with four accepted dosing schemes and no evidence favouring one. The panel also flags added RN risk when SRS is combined with dual checkpoint blockade or antibody-drug conjugates, which bears on sequencing brain RT against systemic therapy.
Resection carries the lowest accepted agreement in the management table (80.0%) yet is positioned as giving diagnosis and definitive treatment in one step for accessible lesions. LITT reached 100% agreement as the option for treatment-resistant RN unsuitable for resection, which gives a documented pathway for the steroid-dependent or bevacizumab-cycling patient.
11 details 5 trials watching
Three-round Delphi. 57 statements drafted after literature review across epidemiology-pathophysiology (n=8), causes (n=10), imaging (n=10), histopathology (n=9), management (n=20), plus an exploratory research set of 8. Consensus prespecified at ≥80% agreement on a 5-point Likert scale.
The voting panel, not patients: 15 volunteers (2 radiation/clinical oncologists, 4 neuro-oncologists, 4 medical oncologists, 2 neurosurgeons, 1 neuropathologist, 1 neuroradiologist, 1 nuclear medicine physician), expanded by 5 more in round 1 (4 neuro-oncologists, 1 radiation/clinical oncologist) to 20 total. Clinically the scope is RN after RT for primary glial or metastatic brain tumors.
RN is called uncommon below EQD2 ~40 Gy (α/β 2 Gy), rising with dose per fraction, total dose and irradiated volume. V12Gy ~10 cm³ carries a 5-10% symptomatic necrosis risk after single-session SRS; for hypofractionated SRT, brain-plus-target V20Gy (3fx) or V24Gy (5fx) <20 cm³ associates with <10% any necrosis and <4% RN requiring resection. Re-irradiation risk stays under 10% at cumulative EQD2 100-110 Gy and reaches up to 25% above 130 Gy.
Consensus reached on 53 of 57 statements after three rounds. Diagnostic and management statements are tabulated separately in the details; the four that failed to reach 80% are not identified in the available text.
| Modality | Setting | Sensitivity | Specificity |
|---|---|---|---|
| T1 contrast-enhanced MRI alone | WHO grade 3-4 glioma | 68% | 77% |
| T1 contrast-enhanced MRI alone | Brain metastases | 79% | 76% |
| DSC rCBV | Grade 3-4 glioma | 87-90% | 86-88% |
| DSC rCBV | Brain metastases (418 lesions) | 83% | 78% |
| MR spectroscopy Cho/NAA | Glioma (455 pts) | 88% | 86% |
| Amino acid PET | Brain metastases (~400 pts) | 82% | 84% |
The document's practical contribution is a decision sequence rather than a new treatment: advanced MRI first, amino acid PET to add confidence, tissue when doubt persists, and treatment triggered only by symptoms of >7 days with increasing severity. Its most consequential position is moving bevacizumab from rescue to an expected next step at a defined steroid threshold (dependence >4 weeks or dexamethasone 8 mg/day), which is a lower bar than many centres apply.
Agreement percentages measure how a self-selected 20-person European panel voted, and the panel skews neuro-oncology (8 of 20) over radiation oncology (3 of 20) for a complication defined by dose and volume. FET and F-DOPA availability is largely European, so the imaging algorithm's top tier is not reproducible in most centres worldwide. The 4 non-consensus statements are not enumerated in the accessible text, so the reader cannot see where the panel actually split.
Delphi expert-opinion document, no efficacy endpoint. Agreement measured against opinion, not outcomes; authors state absence of Level 1 evidence and call for randomised trials.
- Optimal bevacizumab dose, interval and duration for symptomatic RN n=408 · primary completion 2028-07 · phase 3 bevacizumab vs dexamethasone, 1L sCRNrecruiting Corticodependent or Corticoresistant Brain Radionecrosis After Radiotherapy for Brain Metastases Phase 3n=84 · primary completion 2028-08 · randomised bev vs placebo in steroid-refractory RN
- Single-session SRS vs hypofractionated SRT for RN risk active Comparing Single vs Multiple Dose Radiation for Cancer Patients With Brain Metastasis and Receiving Immunotherapy Phase NAn=58 · primary completion 2028-03 · single vs fractionated SRS toxicity on ICIn=54 · primary completion 2029-02 · staged SRS vs FSRT, 2-5 cm mets, safety endpointn=504 · primary completion 2030-01 · phase 3 3x10 Gy SRT vs 1x20-25 Gy SRS
- Predictors of bevacizumab response and recurrence rate after treatment
📚 Sources · 📄 1 paper
Abstract
ESTRO OCSCC Post-op CTV Delineation Guidelines
ForResected oral cavity SCC proceeding to post-operative radiotherapy
TL;DRFirst ESTRO guideline for post-op CTV delineation in oral cavity SCC: GTV-P pre-op + 10 mm composited with surgical defect/flap + 5 mm.
The margin recipe is asymmetric and that is the operative detail: 10 mm around the re-created pre-op GTV-P but only 5 mm around the surgical defect or flap, composited rather than either alone. Fig 3.1/3.2 shows why, the re-created GTV-P extended superiorly beyond the defect into infratemporal fossa, a geographical miss if you contour the defect alone.
In resected OCSCC going to PORT, this supports re-creating the pre-op GTV-P from diagnostic MRI alongside the defect or flap rather than contouring the operative bed alone; it does not extend to R2 resections or other head and neck subsites. The longer read
The margin recipe is asymmetric: 10 mm around the re-created pre-op GTV-P but 5 mm around the surgical defect or flap, composited rather than either alone. Nodal margin is pENE-gated at 5 mm versus 10 mm on GTV-N pre-op. Fig 3.1/3.2 shows the pre-op GTV extending past the defect into infratemporal fossa, a geographical miss if you contour the bed alone.
11 details 5 trials watching
ESTRO-convened multi-disciplinary expert group developing delineation guidelines through discussion and review of current evidence and international practice. Drafts were reviewed by HNSCC experts from countries outside the authorship (Japan, Hong Kong, Australia, Brazil, Mexico, Canada, Denmark, France, Spain, Poland, Ireland, UK) and modified on their feedback. No efficacy endpoint, no patient cohort.
Patients with oral cavity squamous cell carcinoma requiring post-operative radiotherapy, regardless of margin status and other histological risk factors. R2 resection (macroscopic residual disease) is explicitly out of scope. Companion background manuscript from the same group covers indications for PORT.
Planning CT 2.0 mm slices (range 1-3 mm), skull base to below sterno-clavicular joint, IV contrast mandatory, rigid co-registration with pre-op contrast-enhanced CT and/or MRI matched to C1-C3 vertebral bodies or nearby bone, not to soft tissue. CTV-P is the composite of GTV-P pre-op + 10 mm and surgical defect/flap + 5 mm, edited for bone, fascia, air, teeth and any intra-oral prosthesis. Nodal margin is 5 mm on GTV-N pre-op without pENE, 10 mm with pENE.
None. The stated aim is consistency of delineation to enable multi-institutional audit, clinical trials and RTQA. Authors position prospective audits of practice and outcomes as the route to establishing these volumes as standard of care.
Extends the 2018 international CTV-P consensus for definitive HNSCC RT, whose 5+5 mm geometric expansion supplies the 10 mm used here around GTV-P pre-op. Cites the DAHANCA finding that geometric expansion is more conformal than anatomical margins, a post-hoc De-ESCALaTE analysis correlating the anatomical-to-geometric protocol change with lower late dysphagia, and non-randomised Dutch series where reducing the high-risk margin 10 mm to 6 mm cut salivary and constrictor dose. GORTEC's 2020 flap delineation guidance is named as an adjunct.
The 5 mm and 10 mm margins are imported from definitive-setting geometry and one surgical pathology series (>95 % of microscopic infiltration within 5 mm of GTV-P edge), not from post-operative recurrence mapping. The dose to dissected but uninvolved levels rests on a 1993 MD Anderson observation never tested prospectively, and is left to clinician discretion (EQD2 50-60 Gy). The whole method assumes accurate pre-op to planning CT co-registration, and the fallback where it fails is to treat the entire involved level, a larger volume.
The novel move is refusing to pick between the two available surrogates for a resected tumour: re-created pre-op GTV and operative bed are contoured independently and unioned, because each fails in a different direction. Fig 3.1 shows a GTV-P pre-op extending superiorly past the defect toward the infratemporal fossa, and Fig 8.1 a pectoralis major pedicled flap whose composite volume extends outside the oral cavity and is trimmed back. What is left unsettled is dose de-escalation to central flap tissue, where the guideline offers a flap avoidance structure for standardisation while stating there is a lack of data and consequently a lack of consensus.
| Volume | Indication | EQD2 dose |
|---|---|---|
| CTV-P post-op | PTV associated with post-op primary CTV | 60 Gy |
| CTV-P high-risk | Positive (<1 mm) margin, whole CTV-P or localised strip | over 60 Gy, e.g. 64-66 Gy |
| CTV-N1 | Involved nodal levels | 60 Gy |
| CTV-N2 | Undissected at-risk levels | 50 Gy |
| CTV-N2, dissected at-risk levels | Optimal dose unknown | 50 Gy to 60 Gy, clinician discretion |
| CTV-N high-risk | Pathological extranodal extension | over 60 Gy, e.g. 64-66 Gy |
ESTRO expert guideline, no efficacy endpoint. Fills a documented gap (no prior post-op HNSCC CTV consensus); authors themselves position prospective audit as the validation step.
- Optimal dose to dissected but uninvolved nodal levels recruiting Preservation of Swallowing in Respected Oral Cavity Squamous Cell Carcinoma: Examining Radiation Volume Effects (PRESERVE): A Randomized Trial Phase 2n=90 · primary completion 2026-09 · OCSCC RCT: omit RT to dissected pN0 hemi-neckn=50 · primary completion 2029-01 · compartment-based post-op volume reduction in HNSCCrecruiting De-Intensification of Postoperative Radiotherapy in Patients With Squamous Cell Carcinoma of the Head and Neck Phase 2/3n=508 · primary completion 2031-12 · omits elective neck RT after neck dissection
- Whether flap dose de-escalation is safe not yet Lipiodal Injection Technique for Free Flap Sparing Adjuvant RT Planning in HNC Phase Early 1n=10 · primary completion 2026-03 · lipiodol marks flap borders for sparing plansn=348 · primary completion 2031-03 · phase 3 RCT: flap-sparing vs standard post-op RT
- Whether 10 mm post-op primary margin can be reduced as in definitive setting
📚 Sources · 📄 1 paper
American Radium Society AUC: Local Intraprostatic Recurrence
ForIsolated intraprostatic recurrence after definitive prostate RT
TL;DRSevere GU toxicity 20% after salvage RP vs 5.6% SBRT, 9.6% HDR: panel prefers biopsy-confirmed reirradiation.
The modality recommendation is a toxicity argument, not an efficacy one: MASTER found adjusted 5-yr recurrence-free survival of 50% to 60% across modalities with no survival difference vs RP, so reirradiation wins on severe GU toxicity (5.6% SBRT, 9.6% HDR vs 20% RP). Target volume then follows concordance, focal when mpMRI and systematic biopsy agree, whole-gland when they do not.
In a man with rising PSA after conventionally fractionated definitive prostate EBRT whose PSMA PET and mpMRI show isolated intraprostatic recurrence, this supports biopsy confirmation before reirradiation rather than ADT alone; it does not extend to recurrence after primary brachytherapy or to nodal or distant failure. The longer read
Every accepted schema fits in six or fewer fractions (34 Gy or 40 Gy in 5 fractions, 36 Gy in 6 fractions per GETUG-AFU 31, HDR 27 Gy in 2 fractions), and focal CTV is mpMRI plus choline PET GTV with a 5-7 mm margin bound by the capsule. None of it was validated after hypofractionated primary RT.
ADT alone is recommended against for confirmed local recurrence. Only a short 4-6 mo LHRH agonist is endorsed, as a radiosensitizer with salvage SBRT, and the panel reached no agreement on relugolix (HERO's cardiac benefit was an unplanned secondary, PRONOUNCE did not replicate). Classic ADT is preferred over novel hormonal agents.
Salvage RP holds equivalent adjusted 5-yr recurrence-free survival in MASTER (50% to 60% across modalities, no survival difference vs RP), so the case against it is toxicity: severe GU 20% vs 5.6% after SBRT. Biopsy and ablation should not be combined in one procedure, since histologic confirmation must precede salvage.
9 details 4 trials watching
PRISMA systematic review of PubMed and Embase (searched 28 June 2022) across four topics, excluding conference abstracts, non-English publications and series of fewer than five patients. A 12-member multidisciplinary panel of radiation oncologists, urologists and medical oncologists voted in two rounds by modified Delphi, with RAND methodology defining disagreement.
Scope is tier A disease, local-only intraprostatic radiorecurrence after definitive RT, with BCR defined as PSA 2.0 ng/ml above nadir. Evidence was restricted to men whose primary treatment was conventionally fractionated EBRT, and prior brachytherapy patients were excluded from the synthesis. Every variant presumes the patient wants curative-intent local salvage.
All accepted salvage schemas fit in six or fewer fractions. For focal salvage, GETUG-AFU 31 defines GTV by mpMRI plus choline PET with a 5-7 mm margin bound by the prostatic capsule; whole-gland salvage SBRT has prospective support from the Fuller series. Dose constraints and IGRT method are out of scope.
Long hormone courses are recommended against across all salvage scenarios. A short 4-6 mo LHRH agonist carries moderate consensus as a radiosensitizer with salvage SBRT in patients without cardiac history, weaker consensus with cardiac comorbidity, and classic ADT is preferred over novel hormonal agents.
The toxicity read that drives the reirradiation preference comes from pooled retrospective data that could not evaluate sexual toxicity and included no PSMA PET selection. Approaches that combine biopsy and ablation in one procedure are discouraged, since histologic confirmation must precede salvage.
No prior consensus guideline addressed intraprostatic radiorecurrence exclusively. The hormone-only comparators being displaced (Crook intermittent vs continuous ADT, TOAD immediate vs delayed, EMBARK enzalutamide MFS benefit) all enrolled before PET-based selection and none isolated a biopsy-confirmed, local-only cohort. RTOG 0526 reported after MASTER closed, adding prospective LDR support.
The search closed 28 June 2022 with an acknowledged lag to publication. MASTER carries between-study heterogeneity and follow-up asymmetry favoring older modalities, so its flat efficacy comparison is not a randomised one. The hormone recommendation rests on no qualifying study and is extrapolated from de novo intermediate-risk data.
Settled: image, biopsy with both systematic and targeted cores, then prefer reirradiation over hormones alone. Not settled: the modality for a second salvage, for castrate-resistant local recurrence, for short PSA doubling time, or after prior grade 3 toxicity, all of which drew panel disagreement.
| Variant | Panel position |
|---|---|
| Variant 1: isolated intraprostatic recurrence | Reirradiation usually appropriate; cryotherapy or HIFU may be appropriate; ADT alone not recommended |
| Variant 2: short PSA doubling time, short interval to failure | HIFU may be appropriate, but disagreement across all interventions; ADT alone not recommended |
| Variant 3: castrate-resistant local recurrence | Disagreement on intervention; androgen suppression uniformly not recommended |
| Variant 4: second local salvage | Disagreement on which modality to select |
| Variant 5: prior grade ≥3 toxicity | Disagreement; active surveillance may be appropriate; ADT can be considered |
| Modality | Severe GU | Severe GI |
|---|---|---|
| Salvage RP (reference) | 20% | 1.8% |
| SBRT | 5.6% | not reported in source |
| HDR brachytherapy | 9.6% | 0.0%, p < 0.01 vs RP |
| LDR brachytherapy | 9.1% | not reported in source |
| Scenario | Target volume |
|---|---|
| mpMRI and systematic biopsy agree on lesion location | Focal favored |
| History of grade ≥3 toxicity from initial RT course | Focal favored |
| Lesion occult on mpMRI, localised by PET plus systematic biopsy | Focal or whole-gland both appropriate |
| mpMRI and systematic biopsy disagree on lesion location | Whole-gland preferred |
| Recurrent lesion in a different location to the index lesion | Whole-gland preferred, focal appropriate in selected cases |
Appropriate use criteria from a 12-member Delphi panel; the output is a recommendation grid, not an efficacy result. No trial endpoint, so efficacy verdicts do not apply.
- Salvage outcomes after primary hypofractionated RT or prior brachytherapy n=60 · primary completion 2024-11 · RO-PIP: salvage ultra-hypofx EBRT vs HDR, pt-reported toxrecruiting Stereotactic Re-irradiation of Local Recurrences of Prostate Cancer After Radiotherapy Phase 2n=55 · primary completion 2029-12 · focal SBRT reRT, G2/G3 GU-GI tox 1° EPn=30 · primary completion 2032-01 · salvage HDR after prior EBRT or LDR brachytherapy
- Whether short ADT adds oncologic benefit to salvage reirradiation
- Optimal modality for castrate-resistant or second local salvage n=50 · primary completion 2025-03 · focal salvage HDR, biopsy/MRI-guided local recurrence