ASTRO Annual Meeting 2025
MARCAP Consortium
ForLocalized prostate cancer, NCCN intermediate to high risk, definitive RT
TL;DRIPD meta-analysis, 10,853 pts: ADT added to RT improved MFS HR 0.83 and OS HR 0.86; dose escalation improved bRFS only.
Reported via UroToday →
The dose-invariance result is the load-bearing one: ADT's benefit was identical at ≥74 Gy and <74 Gy (both HR 0.83), so escalating dose does not buy out the ADT decision. Adjuvant prolongation carries the benefit (MFS HR 0.84), neoadjuvant prolongation does not (HR 0.95), which moves sequencing, not just duration.
In NCCN intermediate- and high-risk localized prostate cancer receiving definitive RT, this supports adding and prolonging ADT on the adjuvant side rather than substituting dose escalation; it does not address node-positive or post-prostatectomy salvage settings. The longer read
ADT's benefit was identical at ≥74 Gy and <74 Gy (HR 0.83 both), so escalation does not buy out the hormone decision, and HEAT showed escalation to 79.2 Gy improved biochemical RFS but not MFS or OS. Adjuvant prolongation carries the survival benefit; neoadjuvant prolongation (HR 0.95) does not.
The duration and sequencing read: extending adjuvant ADT from 4-6 to 18-36 months gave MFS HR 0.84 and OS HR 0.85, while extending neoadjuvant ADT from 3-4 to 6-9 months gave HR 0.95 for both. Relative benefit held across NCCN groups, so risk stratification changes NNT, not effect size.
9 details 5 trials watching
Individual patient data meta-analysis from the MARCAP Consortium, 12 eligible trials, 10,853 patients, median follow-up 11.4 years (IQR 9.0-15.0). Three intensification questions analyzed separately: ADT use, neoadjuvant ADT prolongation, adjuvant ADT prolongation.
Localized prostate cancer treated with definitive radiotherapy, stratified by NCCN prognostic risk group. The RT ± ADT comparison ran 2,557 control vs 2,579 experimental (NCCN high 32.6% vs 32.8%, intermediate 47.6% vs 48.7%); the adjuvant-prolongation comparison was high-risk enriched at 71.5% vs 71.1% NCCN high across 1,900 vs 1,874 pts.
Dose was analyzed as a binary ≥74 Gy vs <74 Gy split, with the companion HEAT analysis using 64 to <74 Gy vs ≥74 Gy and escalation up to 79.2 Gy. Brachytherapy boost is discussed as an escalation route alongside external-beam dose.
ADT addition improved MFS HR 0.83 (0.77-0.89) and OS HR 0.86 (0.80-0.92). Adjuvant prolongation improved MFS HR 0.84 (0.78-0.91) and OS HR 0.85 (0.78-0.94); neoadjuvant prolongation did neither (MFS HR 0.95, OS HR 0.95). 10-yr MFS 61% (59-63) with ADT vs 52% (50-54) without; 10-yr OS 65% (63-67) vs 57% (55-59).
| Intervention | Intermediate risk | High risk |
|---|---|---|
| ADT addition | 18.0 | 8.4 |
| Adjuvant ADT prolongation | 16.1 | 10.4 |
The 2022 HEAT network meta-analysis (13 trials, 11,862 pts) found dose escalation improved biochemical RFS but not MFS or OS, and named high-dose RT plus long-term ADT the best strategy. PROG 05/09 and GETUG-18 are invoked to explain the gap: a 21% 5-year biochemical benefit in low risk where metastasis is rare, versus 3% in high risk where it is not.
The pooled trials span 30+ years of practice, so the RT technique behind the <74 Gy stratum is not the technique a reader delivers today. The stated optimal durations (closer to 12 months high risk, 24+ months very high risk) come from DHARMA, accepted but unpublished, so that specific number is not yet auditable.
The framing claim is that dose escalation and ADT are not interchangeable levers: escalation buys biochemical control, ADT buys metastasis-free and overall survival, and the two do not substitute. The dogma that dose escalation obviates ADT is named as widely repeated and never demonstrated.
IPD meta-analysis of randomised trials, large N, long f/u. Reinforces ADT intensification over dose escalation; no new randomisation, and duration guidance rests on unpublished DHARMA.
- Optimal adjuvant ADT duration by prognostic risk group active A Study of Shorter Course Hormone Therapy and Radiation for High-risk Prostate Cancer Phase 2n=50 · primary completion 2026-10 · shorter-course ADT with brachy + hypofx EBRT, high-riskrecruiting Artificial Intelligence Driven Personalisation of Radiotherapy and Concomitant Androgen Deprivation Therapy for Prostate Cancer Patients (the HypoPro Trial) Phase 2n=30 · primary completion 2026-10 · MMAI classifier individualises ADT duration, high-risk
- Does dose escalation change ADT benefit with modern brachytherapy boost active Comparative Study of Radiotherapy Treatments to Treat High Risk Prostate Cancer Patients Phase 3n=307 · primary completion 2028-12 · phase 3 HDR brachy boost vs dose-escalated RT + ADTrecruiting Androgen Suppression Combined With Nodal Irradiation and Dose Escalated Prostate Treatment Phase 3n=710 · primary completion 2032-10 · phase 3 SBRT vs EBRT + brachy boost, all on ADTrecruiting PRO-BOOST-LC: Whole-Gland Boost Strategies Versus SBRT Monotherapy in PSMA-Staged Localized and Locally Advanced Prostate Cancer Phase 2/3n=1000 · primary completion 2033-12 · randomised brachy or SBRT boost vs SBRT alone, + ADT
- Whether intermediate-risk subsets warrant long-term ADT
📚 Sources · 📄 1 paper
Abstract
NRG-GU005 (quality of life)
ForLocalized intermediate-risk prostate cancer, median age 68, no ADT specified
Bowel 33% vs 46% at 1 yr
p=0.002; 2yr bowel/UIO primary PRO endpoint not reported in source
TL;DRFewer MCID declines with SBRT at 1yr bowel (33% vs 46%, p=0.002) and sexual (34% vs 44%, p=0.026).
Reported via UroToday →
The QoL separation is domain-specific, not global: bowel and sexual at 1yr, urinary incontinence at 2yr, with no longitudinal effect in sexual or hormonal. Rectal manipulation (SpaceOAR 55%) and the 38.78 Gy PTV max cap gate transfer, since the bowel and GU signals came from a spacer-heavy, urethra-constrained delivery.
In localized intermediate-risk prostate cancer choosing between 5-fraction SBRT and moderate hypofractionation, this supports SBRT on patient-reported bowel, sexual, and continence grounds; it does not speak to high-risk disease, nodal coverage, or oncologic non-inferiority, which the trial's primary endpoint carries. The longer read
Domain-specific, not global: bowel and sexual at 1yr, incontinence at 2yr, with no longitudinal sexual or hormonal effect. The 38.78 Gy PTV max cap and 55% SpaceOAR use gate transfer, since the favorable GU and bowel profile came from a urethra-constrained, spacer-heavy delivery, not from five fractions alone.
Also covered Aug 14
11 details
Randomized, non-blinded phase III, 1:1, N=698 (MH-IMRT 345, SBRT 353), stratified by Gleason score, PSA, and rectal manipulation. The trial's oncologic primary endpoint sits elsewhere; this analysis reports the patient-reported secondary endpoints.
Localized intermediate-risk prostate cancer, median age 68 (IMRT) and 69 (SBRT). Two patients were ineligible (one high-risk, one PSA out of window). Baseline EPIC domains were balanced across arms, all p≥0.093.
SBRT 36.25 Gy in 5 fractions delivered 2-3 per week, PTV expansion 5mm except 3mm posteriorly and anteriorly, PTV max capped at 38.78 Gy unless the urethra was visualized and contoured (acceptable variation 43.5 Gy). MH-IMRT 70 Gy/28 fx or 60 Gy/20 fx, PTV expansion 8mm except 5mm posteriorly. CTV was prostate ± 1cm proximal seminal vesicles. Rectal manipulation was common: SpaceOAR in 55% overall.
EPIC-26 at baseline, 12 and 24 months. MCID thresholds: >5 points urinary irritative/obstructive, >6 urinary incontinence, >10 sexual, >4 bowel and hormonal. Individual MCID rather than group mean scores was the analytic unit, with an exploratory longitudinal linear model adjusted for baseline score, arm, stratification factors, T-stage, age, and race.
The arm-level MCID and toxicity comparisons are tabulated above. Longitudinal modeling of urinary incontinence gave a least square mean difference of 2.91 (95% CI 0.85-4.97, p=0.0058) favoring SBRT, while sexual and hormonal domains showed no significant treatment effect.
| Domain / timepoint | SBRT | MH-IMRT | p |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bowel, 1 yr | 33% | 46% | 0.002 |
| Sexual, 1 yr | 34% | 44% | 0.026 |
| Urinary incontinence, 2 yr | 26% | 35% | 0.023 |
| Event | SBRT | MH-IMRT | p |
|---|---|---|---|
| Treatment-related G≥3 GU | 0.6% | 2.5% | 0.04 |
| Rectal hemorrhage, any grade | 10.5% | 17.3% | 0.01 |
| Fatigue, any grade | 39.2% | 50.8% | 0.0025 |
Investigator-reported toxicity favored SBRT across the board: grade ≥3 GU 0.6% vs 2.5% (p=0.04), any-grade rectal hemorrhage 10.5% vs 17.3% (p=0.01), any-grade fatigue 39.2% vs 50.8% (p=0.0025). The GU finding is the one that most often runs the other way in ultrahypofractionation series, so it is worth reading as the trial's own answer to the pre-trial toxicity concern.
PACE-B is the other large randomized SBRT vs moderate hypofractionation comparison, and both trials show lower urinary incontinence decline with SBRT despite differing MCID definitions. Prior patient-level meta-analysis had suggested less clinically meaningful bowel and urinary irritative/obstructive decline at two years with SBRT, and the 1-year bowel result here is directionally consistent.
Differential attrition ran against the IMRT arm: 22 IMRT patients (6.4%) died or withdrew before year 1 versus 4 SBRT patients (1.1%), and 22 IMRT patients never received the assigned RT after withdrawal versus 1 in the SBRT arm. Completion was 79.9% (IMRT) and 84.0% (SBRT) at year 1. The domain-by-timepoint pattern (bowel and sexual at 1yr, incontinence at 2yr) is the kind of scattered significance that multiplicity should temper.
The trial was designed when the open question was whether five fractions cost the patient something. The PRO answer is that it does not, and the investigator-reported toxicity answer is that it may cost less. What the QoL data cannot do is settle whether SBRT is oncologically non-inferior, which is the primary endpoint and is not reported in this source.
CONSORT flow
Prespecified PRO secondary analysis of a phase III trial, non-blinded with patient-reported endpoints; aligns with PACE-B rather than establishing a new position. Oncologic primary endpoint not reported here.
- Oncologic non-inferiority of SBRT vs MH-IMRT in this trial
- Whether bowel benefit holds without rectal spacer
- Durability of QoL separation beyond 2 years
📚 Sources · 📄 1 paper
Abstract
BART
ForPost-cystectomy MIBC, pT3-4 / pN+ / R+, chemo-treated, no adjuvant IO
87.1% vs 76.0%
HR 0.43, 95% CI 0.20-0.96, p=0.04
TL;DR2yr LRFFS 87.1% vs 76.0% with adjuvant pelvic RT after cystectomy, HR 0.43 (0.20-0.96), p=0.04; OS unchanged.
Reported via UroToday →
The RT read is the per-protocol and subgroup magnitude: LRFFS HR 0.27 (0.10-0.71) among those actually irradiated, and HR 0.22 (0.06-0.75) in pN+. Target was cystectomy bed plus full pelvic nodes to 50.4Gy/28fx with stoma-sparing IMRT, a plan deliverable in standard practice, and late G3+ toxicity was 8.4% vs 10.5%. That moves the offer-RT decision for pN+ disease.
In pN+ or pT3-4 urothelial MIBC after cystectomy and cisplatin-based chemotherapy, this supports discussing adjuvant pelvic RT for locoregional control; it does not inform pts receiving adjuvant nivolumab, who were unrepresented here. The longer read
The deliverable read is technique plus magnitude: 50.4Gy/28fx to cystectomy bed and full pelvic nodes with stoma-sparing IMRT and daily IGRT, late G3+ 8.4% vs 10.5%, LRFFS HR 0.22 (0.06-0.75) in pN+. This moves the offer-adjuvant-RT decision for pN+ or margin-positive disease.
Chemotherapy was neoadjuvant in 71% and adjuvant in 20%, and no pt received immunotherapy, so this speaks to a failure mode the chemo backbone did not cover: 26% locoregional recurrence under observation. It does not change regimen choice, but it questions whether adjuvant nivolumab alone addresses pelvic failure.
With a median 20 nodes dissected and a 4.6% positive margin rate, locoregional recurrence still reached 26% without RT, so this is not attributable to inadequate surgery. For pT3-4, pN+, or R+ specimens, it argues for referral for adjuvant RT discussion rather than surveillance alone.
12 details 2 trials watching
Phase III multicenter RCT, 1:1 adjuvant radiotherapy versus observation, N=153 accrued 2016-2024 (RT 77, observation 76). Stratified by nodal stage (N0 vs N+) and chemotherapy timing. Median follow-up 47 months; per-protocol comparison by log rank, with Fine-Gray competing-risk subdistribution HRs for LRFFS (competing risks distant metastases, non-cancer death) and DFS.
High-risk non-metastatic urothelial MIBC post radical cystectomy: T3-4, N1-3, or R+. 62% pT3-T4, 41% pN+, variant histology component in 28%. Median age 57, median nodes dissected 20, positive margin rate 4.6%, neobladder in 2.6%.
Chemotherapy was neoadjuvant in 71% and adjuvant in 20%; 9.2% received none. No patient received immunotherapy in either arm.
50.4Gy in 28 fractions to the cystectomy bed and pelvic nodes. CTV covered common iliac, internal and external iliac, presacral and obturator nodes plus the cystectomy bed. Stoma and bowel sparing IMRT with daily onboard image guidance. 63 of 77 allocated received planned RT.
Primary: 2-year locoregional failure-free survival. Secondary: bladder cancer-specific survival, disease-free survival, overall survival.
Primary endpoint met. Overall 37% recurred, 18% locoregionally (8% RT vs 26% observation, p=0.006), and there were no isolated locoregional recurrences in the RT arm. Survival endpoints all favored RT numerically without reaching significance.
| Endpoint | Adjuvant RT | Observation | Effect size |
|---|---|---|---|
| LRFFS (primary) | 87.1% | 76.0% | HR 0.43 (0.20-0.96), p=0.04 |
| LRFFS per protocol | 93.2% | 75.0% | HR 0.27 (0.10-0.71), p=0.008 |
| DFS | 71.6% | 58.7% | HR 0.62 (0.36-1.05), p=0.07 |
| Bladder cancer-specific survival | 79.6% | 65.0% | HR 0.59 (0.33-1.10), p=0.09 |
| Overall survival | 70.4% | 57.4% | HR 0.78 (0.49-1.26), p=0.31 |
Grade 3 GI events were low and no higher with RT (1.6% vs 4.1%); the cost was grade 2 GI (17.5% vs 1.4%) with no toxicity-related discontinuation. Late grade 3+ toxicity was similar (8.4% vs 10.5%, p=0.60).
The comparator that defines current adjuvant practice is CheckMate 274 (adjuvant nivolumab), which no BART patient received, so this addresses a locoregional failure mode nivolumab was never shown to control. Prior adjuvant RT evidence in this space is the smaller Egyptian NCI randomised experience; BART is described as the largest RCT here.
Accrual over eight years fell short of target, so the survival endpoints are underpowered rather than negative: the OS CI (0.49-1.26) is compatible with both a substantial benefit and modest harm. 14 of 77 allocated to RT never received it and were analyzed with observation (n=90), which is the per-protocol comparison the headline HR 0.27 comes from.
This establishes that pelvic RT after cystectomy does what RT does elsewhere: it controls the field it treats, at an acceptable late-toxicity cost. What it does not establish is whether preventing a locoregional recurrence in a disease this systemically aggressive translates into survival, which the planned MERCY IPD meta-analysis is meant to answer.
CONSORT flow
Randomised, primary endpoint met, prespecified stratification. Adjuvant RT is not standard post-cystectomy; this is the first positive phase III. Underpowered for OS, no IO backbone.
- Does locoregional control translate into an overall survival benefit active Adjuvant Radiotherapy in Patients With Pathological High-risk Bladder Cancer (GETUG-AFU 30) Phase NAn=81 · primary completion 2027-12 · randomised adjuvant pelvic RT post-RC + PLND
- Adjuvant radiotherapy combined with adjuvant immunotherapy recruiting Adjuvant Concurrent Immunotherapy and Radiotherapy for the Treatment of Bladder Cancer Phase 1n=10 · primary completion 2027-04 · phase 1 concurrent adjuvant IO + RT safety
- Generalizability to older pts with limited lymphadenectomy