onc brain

About · curated by Nick Boehling, MD · @nb2276

Retrospective

8 studies Subscribe via RSS →

Early signal

Moderately hypofractionated partial breast reirradiation

ForIsolated IBTR after BCS + WBI, T1-2, unifocal, ≥48mo interval, age ≥50

TL;DR40Gy/15fx PBI re-RT after second lumpectomy: 3yr LR-FS, DR-FS and OS all 86%, no grade 3+ late events (N=11).

Why it mattersRadiation oncology

The transferable read is the fractionation, not the outcome: 40 Gy / 2.67 Gy daily PBI met every OAR objective with heart Dmean 1.44 Gy and ipsilateral lung V16Gy 7.74%, so a once-daily 15-fraction re-RT can be planned inside standard constraints. That removes the BID-visit burden that limits RTOG 1014 uptake, though no plan sum with the first WBI course was possible.

Monday clinic

For the woman with an isolated T1-2 IBTR ≥4 years after BCS plus WBI who wants to keep her breast, this supports offering once-daily hypofractionated PBI re-RT rather than only BID schedules; it says nothing about multifocal, T4, or short-interval recurrence, where mastectomy remains the comparator.

The longer read
16 details 2 trials watching

Retrospective review of a departmental re-RT database, single institution (Porto), treated 2017-2021. Thirteen identified, two excluded (different fractionation; T4 treated with WBI), leaving N = 11. Median follow-up 41 months (27-62), Kaplan-Meier estimates with two-sided log-rank comparisons.

Isolated ipsilateral breast tumor recurrence after BCS plus whole-breast irradiation, all T1-2, clinically node negative, no metastatic disease before second BCS. Inclusion required age ≥ 50, unifocal disease on ultrasound, mammography and MRI, size < 2-3 cm, and an interval of 48 months from primary treatment. Median age at recurrence 63 (41-81), ECOG 0-1 in all.

Initial course was whole-breast irradiation at 2 Gy/fraction in all 11, with a 10 Gy / 5 fraction boost in 2. Re-RT was partial breast, 40 Gy at 2.67 Gy daily, direct-planning IMRT, supine, without DIBH. Median interval between courses 107 months (27-239).

No registered primary. LR-FS, DR-FS and OS by Kaplan-Meier from the day of re-RT completion, with adverse events graded by CTCAE v5.0 (acute < 90 days, late > 90 days) and cosmesis by the Harris scale.

At 3 years, 9/11 free from local recurrence, 10/11 from distant recurrence, 9/11 alive, each 86%. Two local recurrences, at 11 and 15 months. TAM-stratified LR-FS was 100% low risk, 80% intermediate, 100% in the single high-risk patient; the OS difference between low and intermediate risk was not significant (p = 0.75).

ParameterObjectiveAchieved mean (range)
PTV V95%> 98%98.36 (98-99.45)
PTV V107%< 2%0 (0)
Ipsi lung V16Gy< 15%7.74 (1.41-14.98)
Ipsi lung V8Gy< 35%13.22 (2.78-34.58)
Heart Dmean< 3.2 Gy1.44 (0.48-3.09)
Heart V16Gy< 5%1.53 (0-4.89)
Contra lung V4Gy< 10%1.09 (0-8.74)

No grade 3 or higher late reactions. Acute events were skin-limited, most commonly grade 1-2 dermatitis (8 grade 1 erythema, 2 grade 1 pigmentation, 1 pruritus). At 1 year, grade 1 fibrosis in 9 and grade 1-2 oedema in 5, breast pain grade 1 in 2. No cardiopulmonary events, no rib fractures. Cosmesis good in 6, fair in 2, poor in 3.

RTOG 1014 (45 Gy / 1.5 Gy BID, 3D-CRT, n = 66) reported 7% late grade 3 and no grade 4-5 at 5.5 years; Janssen 2018 (n = 83, 45 Gy / 1.8 Gy daily) reported a 15% LR rate at 35 months. Brachytherapy series sit at 94-100% third-IBTR-free survival with 8-11% grade 3-4 complications. This cohort's toxicity is at or below all of them, on a fraction of the patient numbers and follow-up.

women with a late, isolated, unifocal T1-2 IBTR who choose repeat conservation over mastectomy
Does not represent multifocal or T4 recurrence, short-interval (< 48 month) relapse, or patients whose first course was anything other than conventionally fractionated whole-breast irradiation.

The first course's dose distribution was unavailable, so no composite plan sum could be produced and cumulative OAR dose stays uncharacterized, which is the number that actually gates re-RT safety. Cosmesis was scored unblinded by the treating radiation oncologist, and the reported confidence intervals (46-62%, 52-65%, 47-63%) do not contain their own 86% point estimates as printed.

The contribution is schedule feasibility, not efficacy: a once-daily 15-fraction re-RT plan met every published constraint with wide margin, which is what a department needs before abandoning BID. Whether 40 Gy in 15 fractions matches 45 Gy BID for in-breast control remains untested; two events in 11 patients cannot answer it.

Retrospective single-arm series, N=11, 2 events, median f/u 41 months. No comparator vs mastectomy or vs the established BID re-RT schedules.

📚 Sources · 📄 1 paper
📄 PAPER Van der Elzen, Catarina Moreira; Aires, Fátima; Costa, Fernando et al. · Reports of Practical Oncology and Radiotherapy (2025-10)
Moderately hypofractionated partial breast reirradiation: Early clinical results and dosimetric considerations in the context of 2nd (partial) breast irradiation
Caveats dominate

Cardiac Risk After Heart-Sparing Breast Radiotherapy

ForLeft-sided breast cancer, 3D-CRT or IMRT, 2008-2018

TL;DRMax LAD ≥12 Gy EQD2: sHR 1.81 (1.04-3.16) for cardiac events; mean heart dose ≥2 Gy null (P=.99), 2223 left-sided pts.

Why it mattersRadiation oncology

The number that reaches the planning system is the physical-dose translation: 12 Gy EQD2 max LAD is about 10.5 Gy at 42.5 Gy/16 fx and 7 Gy at 26 Gy/5 fx. Discrimination was weak for both metrics (C index 0.58 vs 0.53), so this argues for adding an LAD max objective and motion management, not for retiring mean heart dose.

Monday clinic

In left-sided breast cancer planned with 3D-CRT or IMRT, this supports carrying an LAD max objective alongside the usual heart constraint; it does not extend to right-sided disease, which sat outside the primary analysis.

The longer read
9 details 4 trials watching

Cross-sectional cohort of 4908 breast cancer pts treated with 3D-CRT or IMRT from 2008 to 2018 at one Canadian tertiary center, 2223 left-sided in the primary analysis. Median follow-up 10.8 years (IQR 8.4-13.1). Dosimetry auto-segmented from planning CT, converted to EQD2; competing-risks (Fine and Gray) regression adjusted for cardiovascular risk factors.

Breast cancer treated with 3-dimensional conformal or intensity-modulated RT, 2008 to 2018, with the primary analysis restricted to left-sided disease. Systemic cardiotoxic exposure (anthracycline, trastuzumab) is not reported in source.

3D-CRT or IMRT across the heart-sparing era; LAD and heart automatically segmented and dose converted to EQD2. The threshold is a max point dose to the LAD, not a mean, and the reference schedules are moderate hypofractionation (42.5 Gy in 16 fx) and ultrahypofractionation (26 Gy in 5 fx).

Adverse cardiac events: MI, or admission / ED visit for unstable angina, arrhythmia, heart failure, pericarditis, myocarditis. Coronary angiography and revascularization captured separately as CAD. Discrimination compared by ROC C index, adjusted association by competing-risks regression.

10-year cumulative incidence of cardiac event or CAD was 5.0% (95% CI 4.1-6.0). Metric-by-metric comparison is in the table above.

MetricMax LAD doseMean heart dose
Discrimination (C index)0.58 (95% CI 0.52-0.64)0.53 (95% CI 0.47-0.60)
Adjusted association≥12 Gy EQD2: sHR 1.81 (1.04-3.16), P=.04≥2 Gy: not associated, P=.99
SchedulePhysical max LAD dose
42.5 Gy / 16 fxapprox 10.5 Gy
26 Gy / 5 fxapprox 7 Gy

Current whole-heart constraints descend from population dose-response work on cohorts irradiated when incidental cardiac exposure was far higher (Darby, NEJM 2013), the era in which mean heart dose had usable spread. This is the modern counterpart of those series, and the reversal it reports is what you would expect if heart-sparing planning compressed mean heart dose below its discriminating range. The referenced schedules, 42.5 Gy in 16 fractions and 26 Gy in 5 fractions (FAST-Forward), are current practice, so the dosimetric translation transfers.

left-sided breast cancer treated with 3D-CRT or IMRT in the heart-sparing era, with over a decade of follow-up
Does not represent right-sided disease (outside the primary analysis), proton or partial-breast cohorts, or pts planned before the dose ranges these metrics reflect.

The mean heart dose null is hard to separate from restricted range: a 2 Gy dichotomy inside a heart-sparing cohort may not span enough exposure for a gradient to show. The endpoint counts coronary angiography and revascularization, which track ascertainment and access as well as biology. Systemic cardiotoxic exposure is not reported in source, leaving an obvious confounder unaddressed.

The asymmetry that matters is cost: an LAD max objective plus breath-hold usually costs optimization time, not target coverage, so a weak association is enough to justify it, while it would not justify trading away chest wall or nodal coverage. The measurement problem cuts the other way, since a max point dose to a small mobile auto-segmented vessel is among the least reproducible quantities to write into a protocol. Motion management carries the least methodological baggage of the two recommendations: it lowers LAD dose and heart dose together.

Cross-sectional single-center cohort with a cut point derived in the same data; C index 0.58 barely above chance and its interval overlaps mean heart dose's.

📚 Sources · 📄 1 paper
📄 PAPER Quirk; Atkins; Logie et al. · JAMA oncology (2026-07)
Cardiac Risk After Heart-Sparing Breast Radiotherapy.
Abstract
IMPORTANCE: Radiotherapy for breast cancer exposes the heart to incidental radiation, and historical data have shown a dose-dependent increase in associated cardiac events. Although whole-heart dose metrics are commonly used for risk assessment, emerging evidence suggests that dose to the left anterior descending coronary artery (LAD) may better capture risk.<br/><br/>OBJECTIVE: To compare the ability of heart and LAD radiation dose metrics to predict cardiac risk after breast radiotherapy.<br/><br/>DESIGN, SETTING, AND PARTICIPANTS: This was a cross-sectional study of patients with breast cancer who were treated with either 3-dimensional conformal or intensity-modulated radiotherapy from 2008 to 2018 at a tertiary care center in Canada. The primary analysis included patients with left-sided breast cancer. Cardiac events were assessed using longitudinal follow-up data. Dosimetry was derived from computed tomography plans using automated segmentation and converted to equivalent dose in 2-Gy fractions (EQD2). Data were analyzed from September 2024 to April 2026.<br/><br/>MAIN OUTCOMES AND MEASURES: Adverse cardiac events defined as myocardial infarction or hospital admission or emergency department visit for unstable angina (ie, acute coronary syndrome), arrhythmia, heart failure, pericarditis, or myocarditis. The incidence of coronary angiography and coronary revascularization was also captured as coronary artery disease (CAD). Discrimination for dose metrics was performed with receiver operator characteristic curves and competing-risks regression (Fine and Gray), adjusted for cardiovascular risk factors.<br/><br/>RESULTS: The analysis included 4908 patients with breast cancer of whom 2223 had left-sided breast cancer. During a median (IQR) follow-up period of 10.8 (8.4-13.1) years, cumulative incidence of cardiac event or CAD was 5.0 (95% CI, 4.1-6.0) at 10 years. A data-driven cut point analysis identified 12 Gy EQD2 as the maximum LAD dose that best stratified risk. Among patients with left-sided breast cancer, maximum LAD dose (concordance [C] index, 0.58; 95% CI, 0.52-0.64) discriminated better than mean heart dose (C index, 0.53; 95% CI, 0.47-0.60). In multivariable analysis, maximum LAD of 12 Gy or greater was independently associated with higher cardiac risk (subdistribution hazard ratio = 1.81; 95% CI, 1.04-3.16; P = .04), whereas mean heart dose of 2 Gy or greater was not associated (P = .99). For clinical context, the 12-Gy EQD2 for maximum LAD dose corresponds to a physical dose of approximately 10.5 Gy for 42.5 Gy in 16 fractions and 7 Gy for 26 Gy in 5 fractions.<br/><br/>CONCLUSIONS AND RELEVANCE: In this cross-sectional study of heart-sparing breast radiotherapy, LAD dose was associated with cardiac events, whereas whole-heart metrics was not. These findings support LAD-based planning and respiratory motion management to reduce long-term cardiovascular risk in patients with breast cancer undergoing radiotherapy.
Early signal

Dose-Escalated RT for Muscle-Invasive Bladder Cancer

ForMIBC (T2-T3, N0-N1) post-TURBT, curative-intent trimodality or RT alone

TL;DR2yr invasive local recurrence 5.5% vs 27.5% with SIB dose escalation, adjusted SHR 0.20 (0.05-0.89), p=0.035; no OS or MFS difference.

Why it mattersRadiation oncology

The boost was a simultaneous integrated boost to the primary lesion, 60Gy/20fx or 70Gy/32fx, deliverable on daily CBCT without an elective-volume change, and G2+ GU toxicity did not rise (17.9% vs 22.1%). Half the cohort got no chemotherapy, so this speaks directly to the chemo-ineligible pt where RT intensity is the only lever left.

Monday clinic

In an MIBC pt going to bladder preservation who cannot take concurrent chemotherapy, this supports discussing a boost to the primary lesion as the available intensification; it says nothing about pts with multifocal disease, who were entirely absent from the escalated cohort.

The longer read
10 details

Multicentre retrospective cohort across three centres, March 2015 to May 2025, chosen to capture the daily-CBCT image-guidance era. N=107 (39 dose-escalated, 68 standard), median follow-up 23 months (range 3 to 104).

MIBC after TURBT treated with curative intent, with or without concurrent chemotherapy; node-positive pts eligible if non-metastatic. Metastatic or palliative-intent pts excluded. T2 86%, ECOG 2-3 in half the cohort, hypofractionation in 91%.

Standard cohort received 55Gy/20fx or 64Gy/32fx to the whole bladder. Escalated cohort received a simultaneous integrated boost to the primary lesion, up to 60Gy/20fx or 70Gy/32fx. CT simulation with empty bladder; MRI and FDG PET fused for target delineation in selected pts; daily CBCT in all but one pt.

2-year local control for invasive and non-invasive disease, metastasis-free survival, overall survival, bladder preservation, and toxicity. Local control analysed by Fine-Gray competing-risk models, univariable then multivariable adjusted for T stage.

Dose escalation was associated with lower invasive local recurrence; non-invasive recurrence, metastasis, and survival did not differ. Numbers are in the outcomes table above.

EndpointDose escalationStandard doseEffect
2yr invasive local recurrence (CI)5.5%27.5%SHR 0.20 (0.05, 0.89), p=0.035 (adj T stage)
2yr non-invasive recurrence (CI)6.7%9.9%SHR 0.88 (0.23-3.33), p=0.98
2yr metastasis (CI)21.1%32.3%p=0.79 univariable
2yr overall survival71.1%64.4%p=0.5
G2+ GU toxicity17.9% (7)22.1% (15)p=0.8
G2+ GI toxicity5.1% (2)7.4% (5)p=0.9

No difference in G2+ GU (17.9% vs 22.1%, p=0.8) or G2+ GI toxicity (5.1% vs 7.4%, p=0.9). Grade 3 toxicity in 2 pts (2.9%), both in the standard-dose arm. No pt required early cessation of treatment for toxicity.

unifocal T2-T3 MIBC treated with whole-bladder RT plus an integrated boost on daily CBCT, including chemo-ineligible pts with ECOG 2-3
Does not represent multifocal disease, which was absent from the escalated cohort entirely (0 of 39).

The direction matches BC2001 and BCON, which established chemoradiation and hypoxic modification as ways to improve local control within bladder preservation but never randomised the RT dose itself. The open question these left, whether escalating the primary lesion adds control on top of a modern image-guided plan, is what this cohort probes, at retrospective strength rather than randomised.

The escalated cohort was systematically more favourable: 100% single-focus disease vs 65%, hydronephrosis in 10% vs 28%, T3 in 8% vs 16%. Only T stage entered the multivariable model, and with 18 invasive events total the model could not have supported more. Recurrence ascertainment differed by arm: 3 standard-dose recurrences were presumed invasive on CT and MDT consensus while every escalated-cohort recurrence was confirmed cystoscopically.

The local-control signal is real in this dataset but its magnitude is not transferable: an SHR of 0.20 resting on 2 events versus 16, in cohorts that differ on tumour focality, is an effect size that would be expected to shrink under randomisation. What survives the caveats is a tolerability finding, that an integrated boost to the primary did not raise G2+ GU or GI toxicity.

Retrospective, N=107, 18 total invasive events driving the SHR; boost cohort had single-focus disease and less hydronephrosis, with only T stage adjusted.

  • Does the local-control benefit survive randomisation and balanced tumour focality?
  • Can multifocal MIBC be boosted at all, or only unifocal disease?
  • Late GU toxicity beyond 23 months with an integrated boost
📚 Sources · 📄 1 paper
📄 PAPER Chan, Li; Anzela, Anzela; Do, Viet et al. · Advances in Radiation Oncology (2026-07)
Dose-Escalated Radiotherapy for Muscle Invasive Bladder Cancer: A retrospective analysis
Caveats dominate

ProtecT (cribriform morphology secondary analysis)

ForPSA-screened clinically localized prostate cancer, cribriform status on diagnostic biopsy

TL;DRSecondary analysis: cribriform-negative disease (87% of reviewed cohort) got no significant 15-yr metastasis reduction from early radical treatment vs monitoring.

Reported via UroToday →

Why it mattersRadiation oncology

For the RT reader this is a selection question, not a technique one: it asks whether cribriform status identifies the ProtecT subgroup that actually earned the metastasis reduction from radical treatment. RT here was EBRT with 3-6mo neoadjuvant ADT, a dated backbone. No subgroup HRs, CIs or event counts appear in the source excerpt.

Monday clinic

In PSA-screened clinically localized disease with cribriform-negative grade group 2 on biopsy, this analysis supports treating long-term metastasis risk as comparable to grade group 1; it says nothing about cribriform-positive pts, where guidelines already discourage surveillance.

The longer read
9 details

Secondary pathological analysis of the ProtecT randomized trial (active monitoring vs radical prostatectomy vs EBRT with neoadjuvant ADT). Central review of biopsy slides retrieved for 712 of 1,643 randomized pts, with both intention-to-treat and per-protocol analyses, the latter accounting for crossover to radical treatment.

PSA-screened men with clinically localized prostate cancer, the original ProtecT eligibility. Slides were regraded under 2019 ISUP criteria rather than the trial-era 2005 criteria; the presenter reports regrading did not change the picture. Age, PSA and revised Gleason score did not differ significantly across arms in the reviewed subset.

The RT arm was external-beam radiotherapy with 3 to 6 months of neoadjuvant ADT. No dose, fractionation or target volume is given in the source. The presenter notes cribriform-positive disease was more prevalent in this arm, attributed to chance since cribriform status was not a randomization characteristic.

Primary: metastases at 15-year median follow-up, analysed by cribriform status. Multivariable Cox modelling was used to compare metastasis risk across grade groups within the cribriform-negative stratum.

Roughly 13% of the reviewed cohort was cribriform-positive. Among the 87% cribriform-negative, early radical treatment produced no statistically significant reduction in 15-year metastases vs active monitoring, in both ITT and per-protocol analyses. Cribriform-negative grade group 2 carried metastasis risk equivalent to grade group 1.

PSA-screened, clinically localized prostate cancer with biopsy material available for central cribriform assessment
Does not represent cribriform-positive disease, MRI-targeted-biopsy cohorts, or higher-risk pts outside ProtecT eligibility.

Slides were available for under half the randomized cohort, so the analysis rests on whichever centres have so far returned material. The source excerpt is a video interview that stops mid-presentation and reports no HRs, CIs or event counts, so the size of the null in the cribriform-negative group cannot be judged from it.

The interest here is the inverse of the usual cribriform argument. Rather than showing cribriform-positive pts do badly on surveillance, the useful signal is that cribriform-negative grade group 2 behaves like grade group 1 over 15 years, which is a de-escalation read. Whether the cribriform-positive stratum shows the reciprocal benefit is not in the source excerpt.

Post-hoc subgroup of a non-stratified variable in 712 of 1,643 pts, with a non-significant negative result and no effect sizes in the source.

  • Metastasis outcomes in the cribriform-positive stratum on active monitoring
  • Whether cribriform status holds as a marker in MRI-targeted biopsy cohorts
  • Reproducibility of binary cribriform calls across pathologists
📚 Sources · 📄 1 paper
📄 PAPER · UroToday
Secondary Analysis of ProtecT Trial Evaluates Impact of Cribriform Morphology on Metastasis - Nikita Sushentsev
Abstract
UroToday - GU OncToday brings coverage of the clinically relevant content needed to stay at the forefront of the dynamic field of GU oncology and urology.
📝 https://www.urotoday.com/video-lectures/localized-prostate-cancer/video/5254-secondary-analysis-of-protect-trial-evaluates-impact-of-cribriform-morphology-on-metastasis-nikita-sushentsev.html
Caveats dominate

ctDNA and Local Regrowth/Distant Mets in Nonoperative Rectal Cancer

ForMSS stage I-III rectal ca, cCR/nCR after NAT, on nonoperative management

TL;DRctDNA sensitivity for local regrowth only 41% (12/29), specificity 94%; distant mets sensitivity 74%, specificity 97%.

Why it mattersRadiation oncology

The number that gates watch-and-wait practice is 41% sensitivity for local regrowth (12/29 samples): a negative ctDNA cannot license lengthening MRI or endoscopy intervals in an organ-preservation protocol. Specificity 94% means a positive result is worth acting on, and ctDNA+ at regrowth tracked ypT3-4 in 6/8 vs 3/14 (p=0.01).

Monday clinic

In a stage I-III MSS rectal pt in watch-and-wait after TNT or CRT, a positive ctDNA supports intensified assessment for regrowth or distant disease; a negative result does not support relaxing endoscopic or MRI surveillance intervals.

The longer read
ctDNA and Local Regrowth/Distant Mets in Nonoperative Rectal Cancer
OutcomeSensitivitySpecificityAccuracy
For local regrowth12 / 29 (41%)480 / 509 (94%)492 / 538 (91%)
For distant metastasis31 / 42 (74%)611 / 627 (97%)642 / 669 (96%)
11 details

Single-institution cohort from MD Anderson's INTERCEPT program, 2020-2024, N=110, with serial tumor-informed ctDNA during nonoperative management. Median follow-up 25 months (IQR 18-37).

Microsatellite stable stage I-III rectal adenocarcinoma achieving cCR or near-cCR after neoadjuvant therapy and managed nonoperatively. Median age 56; baseline cT3 in 72 and cT4 in 16; 69 received TNT, 41 CRT or chemotherapy alone.

Local regrowth and distant metastasis by longitudinal ctDNA status, by first post-NAT ctDNA (within 180 days), and per-sample accuracy for an event within ±90 days of each draw. Salvage-surgery pathology by ctDNA status at regrowth.

Twenty-three pts (21%) had local regrowth and 12 (11%) distant metastasis. Ever-positive ctDNA separated both curves (log rank p=0.0002 for regrowth, p<.0001 for metastasis). The per-sample table carries the operating characteristics.

MSS stage I-III rectal cancer in cCR/nCR on nonoperative management with tumor-informed ctDNA surveillance
Does not represent MSI-high disease, pts taken to upfront TME, or ctDNA assays other than the tumor-informed exome platform used here.

Per-sample analysis pools 669 draws from 110 pts without accounting for repeated measures, so the confidence around 41% is softer than the denominator suggests. The first-post-NAT comparison rests on n=12 evaluable pts as reported in the source. No comparison against MRI or endoscopy, the tests ctDNA would have to beat.

The asymmetry between local (41%) and distant (74%) sensitivity is the informative result: intraluminal regrowth from a small residual burden sheds too little DNA to be caught reliably, while metastatic disease does. That biology argues for ctDNA as a distant-recurrence tool layered onto, not substituted for, luminal surveillance.

Retrospective single-center cohort; per-sample analysis treats 669 draws from 110 pts as independent. No head-to-head against MRI/endoscopy surveillance.

  • Does ctDNA add anything over MRI plus endoscopy in NOM surveillance?
  • Can draw timing or a lower assay threshold raise local regrowth sensitivity?
  • Does ctDNA-triggered restaging improve salvage outcomes?
📚 Sources · 🐦 1 tweet
Caveats dominate

Clinico-transcriptomic Risk Stratification (Abstract 5000)

ForNCCN high-risk / very-high-risk localized prostate, definitive RT + ADT

TL;DR~¼ of NCCN ≥HR pts carry discordant clinical vs biomarker risk; 22-gene GC independently prognostic for MFS, DM, OS.

Why it mattersRadiation oncology

The de-escalation cell is where the risk sits: 9% of NCCN ≥HR pts read clinically high but biomarker low, and the framework withholds AAP from them. The 15% running the other way is the easier sell. What moves is whether GC gets ordered at consult, not any planning parameter.

Monday clinic

In NCCN high-risk or very-high-risk localized prostate headed for definitive RT + ADT, this supports ordering a 22-gene GC before the abiraterone decision; it does not speak to post-prostatectomy salvage, node-positive, or metastatic disease.

The longer read
MFS and OS: NRG Risk ≤ 2 (CT HR) and NRG Risk ≥ 3 (CT VHR) vs STAMPEDE RT+ADT reference.
MFS and OS: NRG Risk ≤ 2 (CT HR) and NRG Risk ≥ 3 (CT VHR) vs STAMPEDE RT+ADT reference.
+3 more figures
Clinico-transcriptomic Risk Stratification (Abstract 5000)
Clinico-transcriptomic Risk Stratification (Abstract 5000)
Clinical risk↓ Biomarker↑ Biomarker
↓ Clinical49%15%
↑ Clinical9%27%
Clinico-transcriptomic Risk Stratification (Abstract 5000)
8 details

Clinico-transcriptomic analysis of NRG cohorts modeling the 22-gene GC as a continuous variable (per 0.1 unit) alongside clinical covariates, with treatment carried as a covariate. Contributing trials, N, and follow-up duration are not reported in the source.

NCCN ≥ high-risk localized prostate, spanning NCCN HR and VHR. Baseline age, PSA, and grade distributions are not reported in the source.

Every branch of the framework keeps RT + ADT. No dose, fractionation, target volume, or ADT duration is reported, so RT enters as a fixed backbone rather than a variable under test.

Prognostic performance assessed on MFS, distant metastasis, and OS. No single primary endpoint is stated, and the framework itself is not compared against a randomized alternative.

GC was independently prognostic for all three endpoints (p<0.001); the row-level hazard ratios are not legible in the source slide. Approximately ¼ of the ≥HR population carries discordant clinical vs biomarker risk.

Score (NCCN + GC)CT riskRecommendation
≤ 2 pointsCT HRRT + ADT
≥ 3 pointsCT VHRRT + ADT + AAP

STAMPEDE M0 (Attard, Lancet 2022) is the external yardstick: the CT HR and CT VHR curves are overlaid on that trial's RT + ADT arm rather than on a randomized internal control. Eligibility, staging era, and ADT duration differ between cohorts, so the vertical gap carries trial effects alongside risk-group effects.

NCCN high-risk and very-high-risk localized prostate treated with definitive RT + ADT
Does not represent post-prostatectomy salvage, node-positive or metastatic disease, or men managed with surgery alone.

The GC term's hazard ratios and confidence intervals are not legible in the source, so the size of the increment over clinical variables cannot be checked. The 9% clinically-high / biomarker-low cell is where the framework withholds intensification, and its outcomes are the ones a reader most needs before acting.

The contribution is a parsimonious integer score computable at the consult desk, extending Spratt et al. (JCO 2018) to the modern VHR population. What it does not settle is whether the signal separating these curves also identifies who benefits from AAP: a prognostic split widens absolute benefit for a uniformly effective drug without any interaction, and none is reported here.

Retrospective pooled analysis; GC shown prognostic, not predictive. Intensification threshold benchmarked against STAMPEDE across trials, not randomized within cohort; no treatment-by-GC interaction in source.

  • Does GC predict abiraterone benefit or only prognosis?
  • Prospective validation of the ≥3-point intensification threshold
  • Whether NCCN VHR pts with GC < 0.6 can omit AAP
📚 Sources · 🐦 2 tweets
Caveats dominate

Proton vs Photon PMRT Capsular Contracture

ForPost-mastectomy breast cancer, implant-based reconstruction (TE/I or DTI), receiving PMRT

TL;DR2yr CC 50% with proton+DTI vs 12% photon+TE/I; proton HR 2.3 univariate, 1.76 (0.93-3.32) multivariable, ns.

Why it mattersRadiation oncology

The actionable variable is reconstruction type, not beam: DTI carried HR 3.0 (1.7-5.5) for CC independent of modality, and proton+DTI was the worst cell at 50% at 2 years vs 12% for photon+TE/I. That reframes the pre-RT conversation with plastic surgery toward staged TE/I when protons are planned, rather than toward declining protons outright.

Monday clinic

In a woman heading to PMRT after mastectomy with implant reconstruction, this informs the timing and type of reconstruction discussed with plastic surgery when proton is on the table; it says nothing about autologous reconstruction or prepectoral placement, neither of which was studied.

The longer read
9 details

IRB-approved retrospective cohort at 2 centers within one institution, PMRT delivered 2017-2023. N=175 (89 PBS proton, 86 IMRT photon). CC estimated by Kaplan-Meier, with Cox proportional hazards for covariates and a binary logistic model as verification.

Breast cancer pts who underwent subpectoral 2-stage TE/I or DTI reconstruction and then PMRT. Median age 49 (range 24-78), 63% Hispanic. Groups were balanced except on tumor laterality (P < .001) and reconstruction type (P < .001), the two axes the analysis turns on.

Pencil beam scanning proton PMRT vs IMRT photon PMRT. All TE/I pts had the tissue expander in place and irradiated, so this cohort speaks to expander-in-situ RT, not to post-exchange irradiation of a permanent implant. Dose and fractionation are not reported in source.

Proton was associated with CC on univariate analysis (HR 2.3, 1.26-4.30, P=.007) but the association did not hold after adjustment (HR 1.76, 0.93-3.32, P=.083). DTI vs TE/I carried HR 3.0 (1.7-5.5), P < .001 in the multivariable model. No other factor was significantly associated with CC.

Groupn2yr CC rate
Proton + DTI3650%
Photon + DTI1535%
Proton + TE/I5323%
Photon + TE/I7112%
implant-based subpectoral reconstruction (TE/I or DTI) irradiated with modern PBS proton or IMRT photon PMRT
Does not represent autologous reconstruction, prepectoral implant placement, or unreconstructed chest wall PMRT.

Modality was assigned by practice pattern, not randomized, so the residual proton association could be confounding the model did not capture. CC is clinician-graded on unblinded chart review, and the DTI cells are thin (36 proton, 15 photon), which is where the widest rate gap sits.

The paper set out to test a prespecified suspicion that protons increase CC and returned a trend that did not clear significance once reconstruction type entered the model. What it does establish is the interaction cell worth counseling on: proton + DTI at 50% CC at 2 years.

Retrospective, non-randomized modality assignment with baseline imbalance in reconstruction type and laterality; the proton signal loses significance once adjusted.

  • Does prepectoral placement change the proton CC signal?
  • Expander-in-situ vs post-exchange RT sequencing for implant reconstruction
  • Proton PMRT reconstruction toxicity in a prospective randomized comparison
📚 Sources · 📄 2 papers
📄 PAPER Zerey; Gal; Feenstra et al. · International journal of radiation oncology, biology, physics (2026-04)
Does Pencil Beam Scanning Proton Therapy Impart a Higher Risk of Capsular Contracture Compared With Intensity Modulated Photon Radiation Therapy in the Postmastectomy Reconstruction Setting?
Abstract
BACKGROUND: Postmastectomy radiation therapy (PMRT) may cause adverse events in the reconstruction setting. Proton-based PMRT is increasingly used and has been shown to improve cardiac and pulmonary dosimetry. Data on the risk of capsular contracture (CC) with proton versus photon PMRT remain scarce. We compared the CC rate of the largest cohort of patients undergoing reconstruction after pencil beam scanning proton PMRT reported to date with an intensity modulated radiation therapy photon cohort, hypothesizing that the proton cohort would have a higher rate of CC.<br/><br/>METHODS AND MATERIALS: An institutional review board -approved retrospective study was conducted on patients with breast cancer who underwent subpectoral 2-stage tissue expander/implant (TE/I) or direct-to-implant (DTI) breast reconstruction and received either pencil beam scanning proton or intensity modulated radiation therapy photon PMRT between January 2017 and December 2023 at 2 centers within a single institution. All patients undergoing TE/I had the TE irradiated. CC rates were estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method. Cox proportional hazards analysis, denoted as hazard ratios (HRs) with 95% CIs, was used to assess variables potentially associated with the outcome, and a binary logistic regression model was used to verify the results.<br/><br/>RESULTS: The study cohort comprised 175 patients (89 proton; 86 photon). The median age was 49 years (range, 24-78), 63% were Hispanic. Patient demographics were well balanced between the groups, except in tumor laterality (P < .001) and reconstruction type (TE/I vs DTI; P < .001). The median follow-up was 42 and 47 months for the proton and photon groups, respectively. In a multivariable analysis, DTI patients had a significantly higher risk of CC compared with TE/I patients (HR, 3.0; 95% CI, 1.7-5.5; P < .001). Proton patients had a higher risk of developing CC compared with the photon group in univariate analysis (HR, 2.3; 95% CI, 1.26-4.30; P = .007), although this effect did not reach statistical significance in the multivariable model (HR, 1.76; 95% CI, 0.93-3.32; P = .083). The 2-year CC rate for patients treated with protons and DTI (n = 36), photons and DTI (n = 15), protons and TE/I (n = 53), and photons and TE/I (n = 71) was 50%, 35%, 23%, 12%, respectively (P < .001). No other factors were significantly associated with CC development.<br/><br/>CONCLUSION: In this contemporary large proton versus photon PMRT cohort, patients treated with proton showed a trend toward an increased risk of CC. Patients undergoing DTI who were treated with protons had the highest risk of CC (50%). Careful consideration of reconstruction and radiation therapy modalities, assessing CC risk, and also involving patient input, is important for treatment selection.
📄 PAPER Zerey, M.M.; Gal, O.; Feenstra, N. et al. · International Journal of Radiation Oncology*Biology*Physics (2025-09)
Does Pencil Beam Scanning Proton Therapy Impart a Higher Risk of Capsular Contracture when Compared with Intensity Modulated Photon Radiotherapy in the Post-Mastectomy Reconstruction Setting?
📝 https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ijrobp.2025.07.1298
Caveats dominate

Bladder-preserving TMT multicenter analysis (URONCOR)

ForcT2-T4aN0M0 MIBC treated with definitive TMT, median age 76

TL;DRCLR 63.7% in a 369-pt Spanish TMT cohort; salvage cystectomy 9.7%, image-guidance quality and 5-FU-based CRT predicted local response.

Why it mattersRadiation oncology

The modifiable RT variable here is verification protocol: weekly portal imaging carried OR 0.35 (0.20-0.60) for complete local response, with VMAT trending favorable, across a 2010 to 2022 accrual. Dose, fractionation and target volume are not reported in source, so what transfers is the case for daily volumetric IGRT in a filling, moving organ.

Monday clinic

In cT2-T4aN0M0 MIBC pts in their seventies weighing bladder preservation against cystectomy, this real-world series supports TMT delivered with modern image guidance and a 5-FU-based backbone; it does not inform node-positive or metastatic disease and carries no head-to-head against radical cystectomy.

The longer read
Bladder-preserving TMT multicenter analysis (URONCOR)
10 details

Multicenter retrospective cohort, Spain, 2010 to 2022, N=369 treated with definitive trimodality therapy (maximal TURBT then concurrent chemoradiotherapy). Predictors of response identified by multivariable logistic regression. Follow-up duration not reported in source.

cT2-T4aN0M0 MIBC selected for bladder preservation. Median age 76, 85.1% male. Fitness for cystectomy and completeness of TURBT are not reported in source.

Concurrent chemoradiotherapy, regimen at each center's discretion. 5-FU-based CRT predicted higher complete local response (OR 4.9, 95% CI 1.1-22.1, p=0.038). The comparator regimens are not named in source.

Dose, fractionation and target volume are not reported in source. The only technique signals reported are verification frequency (weekly portal imaging, OR 0.35 for CLR) and a non-significant trend favoring VMAT.

Primary: complete local response (CLR). Secondary: OS, CSS, recurrence patterns, salvage cystectomy. No OS or CSS estimate appears in the source, so the survival half of the conclusion cannot be checked.

CLR 63.7%, salvage cystectomy 9.7%. Progression 28.8%, with systemic failure (10.7%) running at or above local-only failure (10.1%).

BC2001 established the locoregional-control gain from adding chemotherapy to bladder radiotherapy, and the pooled RTOG bladder-preservation experience set the complete-response benchmark; both were protocol populations. This adds European real-world multicenter data at a median age of 76, with no internal cystectomy comparator.

cT2-T4aN0M0 MIBC pts selected for definitive TMT in routine European practice, median age 76
Does not represent node-positive or metastatic disease, nor pts triaged to upfront radical cystectomy.

No follow-up duration, OS or CSS estimate is reported, so the durability behind the preservation claim cannot be judged. The 5-FU odds ratio spans 1.1 to 22.1, compatible with a marginal or a large effect, and in a retrospective series regimen choice tracks renal function and performance status.

Systemic failure at 10.7% running at or above local-only failure at 10.1% argues the ceiling in this population is micrometastatic disease rather than the bladder, which caps what further local intensification can buy. Read conservatively, the predictors favor modern image guidance and an active concurrent backbone, not any specific verification schedule.

Retrospective multicenter cohort with no cystectomy comparator; imaging and chemo predictors come from multivariable regression across a 2010-2022 era shift, so a causal reading is unsupported.

  • Does daily volumetric IGRT improve complete local response vs weekly portal imaging?
  • Which concurrent chemotherapy backbone maximizes complete local response in TMT?
  • Long-term bladder-intact survival vs radical cystectomy in matched populations
📚 Sources · 🐦 1 tweet