onc brain

About · curated by Nick Boehling, MD · @nb2276

2026-06-09

digest generated 2026-08-11

FIRESTORM: dose-escalated postop RT (BED ≥79.2 Gy) lifts 5-yr PFS to 65.8% vs 38.8% in high-risk meningioma, MVA HR 0.40.
Meningioma dose owns the day: FIRESTORM's escalation signal holds after stripping SRS from the comparator (HR 0.56), while RTOG 0539 sets the 10-yr benchmark it argues against (high-risk PFS 42.5% at 60 Gy). Neither is randomised. RAPCHEM adds breast de-escalation: response-adapted nodal omission, 10-yr LRR 2.9%.

CNS

Two reads on the same postop meningioma dose question: RTOG 0539's mature 10-yr risk-stratified benchmark, and a retrospective IPD meta-analysis arguing 60 Gy is too low for high-risk disease, at the cost of doubled radionecrosis and no OS gain.

Confirmatory

NRG Oncology RTOG 0539 NCT00895622

ForWHO grade 1-3 meningioma, newly diagnosed or recurrent, any resection extent

TL;DR10-yr PFS 85.2% observed low-risk, 72.2% intermediate-risk at 54 Gy, 42.5% high-risk at 60 Gy.

Why it mattersRadiation oncology

The transferable RT read is the target: 54 Gy/30 fx for intermediate-risk and 60 Gy/30 fx for high-risk, with grade 3+ RT-attributed toxicity 9.6% and 15.1%. Recurrent grade 1 salvaged with RT reached only 67.0% 10-yr OS, worse than upfront grade 2 post-GTR at 91.0%, which argues against deferring RT in a grade 1 you expect to recur.

Monday clinic

In newly diagnosed WHO grade 2 meningioma after GTR, this supports upfront 54 Gy while NRG BN003 and ROAM read out; it does not speak to observation in that group, since no untreated grade 2 arm was enrolled.

The longer read
10 details 4 trials watching

Multi-arm prospective phase 2 trial (NCT00895622) of risk-adapted management, not randomised: each risk group followed its own assigned strategy. 244 consented, 165 eligible and treated per protocol. Original primary endpoint was 3-yr PFS, previously reported; this is the mature analysis with data cutoff 8/15/2023 and median follow-up 12.1, 12.0 and 11.1 years across the three cohorts.

Adults ≥18 with Zubrod 0-1 and histologically confirmed unifocal WHO grade 1-3 meningioma, newly diagnosed or recurrent, any resection extent, with centrally confirmed pathology. Median age 56, 62 in the high-risk group; 65.5% female overall. Recurrent disease made up 30.8% of the intermediate and 47.2% of the high-risk cohorts.

Group 1 (grade 1 post-GTR/STR) was observed only. Group 2 (recurrent grade 1, or newly diagnosed grade 2 post-GTR) received 54 Gy in 30 fractions. Group 3 (newly diagnosed grade 2 post-STR, newly diagnosed grade 3, or recurrent grade 2/3) received 60 Gy in 30 fractions.

The gradient tracks risk assignment cleanly at 10 years, and the two Cox covariates that survive adjustment are recurrent disease and subtotal resection, both for PFS and OS. See the cohort and covariate tables above.

CohortManagement10-yr PFS10-yr OS10-yr cum. incidence progression
Low (grp 1, n=60)Observation85.2% (75.7-94.8)94.1% (87.6-100)8.9% (3.2-18.2)
Intermediate (grp 2, n=52)RT 54 Gy72.2% (59.2-85.1)84.7% (74.2-95.2)21.2% (10.8-33.9)
High (grp 3, n=53)RT 60 Gy42.5% (28.7-56.3)51.1% (37.0-65.2)39.3% (25.8-52.5)
CovariatePFS HR (95% CI), pOS HR (95% CI), p
Recurrent vs initial2.5 (1.01-6.18), p=0.0472.86 (1.06-7.70), p=0.038
STR vs GTR2.58 (1.09-6.11), p=0.0313.38 (1.28-8.91), p=0.014

Grade 3+ AEs attributed to radiotherapy occurred in 5 pts (9.6%) of the intermediate-risk and 8 pts (15.1%) of the high-risk cohorts. Newly reported late events in the intermediate group were auditory and neurologic grade 3 plus one grade 4 hemorrhage. Zubrod, MMSE and neurologic function score were stable over time.

This is the mature counterpart to the trial's own 3-yr landmark reports and now sits as the benchmark alongside the ongoing de-escalation questions in NRG BN003 (NCT03180268) and ROAM/EORTC 1308, both of which test whether grade 2 post-GTR needs RT at all. Until those read out, the 10-yr PFS 72.2% and OS 84.7% here are the reference numbers for treating that group.

adults with unifocal WHO grade 1-3 meningioma, Zubrod 0-1, managed by risk-adapted observation or conventionally fractionated RT
Does not represent multifocal or NF2-associated disease, poor performance status, or molecularly stratified cohorts using contemporary methylation classification.

Pathology was graded under the WHO criteria of the enrolment era, so some group 1 tumors would likely be reclassified today, which is the trial's own proposed explanation for the poor recurrent grade 1 outcomes. Subgroup estimates rest on very small denominators, with intervals such as 15.0% (0-42.0%) for recurrent grade 2 PFS that cannot support a practice decision on their own.

The trial settles the low-risk question (observe after GTR, 10-yr PFS 88.0%) and confirms that high-risk disease is not controlled by 60 Gy, with 10-yr PFS 42.5%. What it cannot settle is whether the intermediate-risk result reflects RT or favorable biology, since no group 2 patient went untreated.

Non-randomised risk-adapted phase 2 with mature 10+ yr follow-up; supports existing consensus (observe post-GTR grade 1, RT otherwise) rather than testing it against a control.

Sourced from Kotecha, Rupesh et al.

📚 Sources · 📄 1 paper
📄 PAPER Kotecha, Rupesh; Polley, Mei-Yin; Vogelbaum, Michael A. et al. · Journal of Clinical Oncology (2026-05)
Long-Term Analysis of NRG Oncology RTOG 0539: A Phase II Trial of Observation for Low-Risk Meningioma and Radiotherapy for Intermediate- and High-Risk Meningioma
Abstract
NRG Oncology RTOG 0539 was a prospective phase II trial of risk-adapted radiotherapy for patients with WHO grade 1-3 meningioma. Low-risk (group 1, n = 60) was defined as a grade 1 tumor after gross total resection or subtotal resection (GTR/STR) and prospectively monitored. Intermediate-risk (group 2, n = 52) was defined as recurrent grade 1 or newly diagnosed grade 2 tumor after GTR and treated with radiotherapy (54 Gy). High-risk (group 3, n = 53) included a newly diagnosed grade 2 tumor after STR, newly diagnosed grade 3 tumor, or recurrent grade 2 or 3 tumor and treated with radiotherapy (60 Gy). Progression-free survival (PFS) and overall survival (OS) were estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method. The median follow-up times for the low-, intermediate-, and high-risk cohorts were 12.1, 12.0, and 11.1 years, respectively. The 10-year PFS and OS rates for the low-, intermediate-, and high-risk cohorts were 85.2% and 94.1%, 72.2% and 84.7%, and 42.5% and 51.1%, respectively. Five patients (9.6%) and eight patients (15.1%) had a grade 3+ toxicity attributed to radiotherapy in the intermediate- and high-risk cohorts, respectively. The long-term outcomes using this risk-adapted approach support observation for low-risk patients, inform radiotherapy patient selection and practice standards for intermediate- and high-risk patients, and provide comparative benchmarks for future trials.
Challenges SOC

FIRESTORM

ForHigh-risk meningioma (WHO gr 2 post-STR, recurrent gr 2, any gr 3), postop RT

Progression-free survival surrogate

HR 0.40

95% CI 0.24-0.69, P = .001 (MVA); IPTW HR 0.45 (0.24-0.83)

TL;DR5-yr PFS 65.8% vs 38.8% with dose-escalated postop RT (BED ≥79.2 Gy) in high-risk meningioma; MVA HR 0.40.

Why it mattersRadiation oncology

The benefit survives the obvious confounders: excluding the 35 single-fraction SRS cases from SD-RT, DE-RT still gave 5-yr PFS 65.8% vs 41.7% (HR 0.56, 0.36-0.86), and photon-alone escalation matched carbon on PFS (68.3% vs 61.1%) with 0% grade ≥3 radionecrosis. That makes 66-70 Gy conventionally fractionated photons the practical escalation route, not particle referral.

Monday clinic

In a subtotally resected WHO grade 2 or any grade 3 meningioma being planned for postoperative RT, this supports considering escalation beyond 60 Gy/30 fx rather than defaulting to it; it does not speak to gross-totally resected grade 1 disease.

The longer read
14 details

Individual patient-level meta-analysis pooling 248 patients from 7 international institutions, all retrospective except one prospective trial. Median follow-up 67.1 months (range 2.13-178). PFS was the primary outcome, analyzed by Kaplan-Meier, Cox MVA, and IPTW propensity weighting.

High-risk meningioma per RTOG 0539: newly diagnosed WHO grade 2 after STR/biopsy, any recurrent grade 2, or any grade 3. 188 (75.8%) were grade 2, 103 (41.5%) recurrent, and 182 (75.2%) had Simpson grade 4/STR. Median age 60; 55 (22.2%) had prior RT.

DE-RT was defined by biologically effective dose ≥79.2 Gy (equivalent to 66 Gy in 33 fractions) or receipt of a carbon-ion boost; anything below that threshold counted as SD-RT. Photon DE-RT used a sequential or simultaneous integrated boost with a 0.5 to 2 mm PTV margin, versus 1-2 cm CTV margins in the SD-RT arm. Carbon DE-RT boosted 16 Gy/8 fx after 50 Gy/25 fx photons with a 6 mm CTV margin.

Whole-cohort 3- and 5-yr PFS were 62.8% and 45.0%. DE-RT improved 3-yr (86.4% vs 55.6%) and 5-yr PFS (65.8% vs 38.8%), P = .0022, holding on stratified Cox by grade (HR 0.40, 0.22-0.73) and after IPTW (3-yr 84.7% vs 55.8%). OS was not improved on MVA or IPTW.

Subgroup3-yr PFS DE-RT vs SD-RT5-yr PFS DE-RT vs SD-RTMVA HR (95% CI)P
Simpson 1-387.5% vs 55.9%70.0% vs 40.0%0.31 (0.08-1.14).08
Simpson 4-586.3% vs 55.4%63.3% vs 38.4%0.55 (0.36-0.84).006
CohortAny-grade RNGrade ≥3 RN
DE-RT overall20 of 59 (33.9%)3 of 59 (5.1%)
DE-RT mixed carbon/photon15 of 33 (45%)3 of 33 (9.1%)
DE-RT photon-alone5 of 26 (19.2%)0%
SD-RT25 of 189 (13.2%)6 of 189 (3.2%)

Any-grade radionecrosis was 33.9% with DE-RT vs 13.2% with SD-RT (P = .001), but grade ≥3 RN did not differ (5.1% vs 3.2%, P = .47). All 3 grade ≥3 events in the DE-RT arm occurred in the mixed carbon-photon cohort; the photon-alone DE-RT cohort had none, and its any-grade RN rate was not significantly higher than SD-RT (P = .41). One grade 5 event occurred in each arm.

Published series anchored on RTOG 0539 report 5-yr PFS of roughly 40% to 60% with 60 Gy/30 fx, which is what the SD-RT arm reproduces (45.0% overall). The escalation signal draws on MARCIE (carbon boost) and the Zeng et al. photon series, both contributors to this pool, so the comparison is partly internal rather than independent.

high-risk meningioma per RTOG 0539 receiving postoperative RT, predominantly WHO grade 2 after subtotal resection
Does not represent WHO grade 1 disease, gross-totally resected grade 2 without other risk features, or patients managed with surveillance alone.

DE-RT was delivered at only 2 of 7 institutions, one carbon-only and one photon-only, so treatment arm is nearly collinear with center, and unmeasured practice differences (DOTATATE PET planning, response assessment, supportive care) travel with it. Molecular classification was unavailable, and P values were not adjusted for multiple testing across the subgroup analyses.

The Simpson 1-3 subgroup showed absolute separation as large as Simpson 4-5 (5-yr PFS 70.0% vs 40.0%) without reaching significance (P = .08 on MVA), which the authors attribute to a smaller GTR subset and fewer events rather than an absent effect. Whether escalation belongs in fully resected disease is the open question, and the PFS-only benefit means the case rests on avoiding local progression and its neurologic morbidity, not on survival.

Retrospective IPD pooling, DE-RT confined to 2 centers, no randomization; IPTW cannot remove selection. Direction consistent across every sensitivity analysis, but prospective randomization still needed.

  • Benefit of dose escalation after gross total resection
  • Whether molecular subgroups predict DE-RT benefit
  • Prospective randomized confirmation of the PFS signal

Sourced from Singh, Raj et al.

📚 Sources · 📄 1 paper
📄 PAPER Singh, Raj; Koempel, Andrew; French, Beck et al. · International Journal of Radiation Oncology*Biology*Physics (2026-07)
Improved Progression-Free Survival Following Dose-Escalated Versus Standard-Dose Postoperative Radiation Therapy for High-Risk Meningiomas: An International Multicenter Individual Patient–Level Meta-Analysis (FIRESTORM)
Abstract
PURPOSE: We performed an individual patient-level meta-analysis of high-risk meningiomas to compare the outcomes of dose-escalated radiation therapy (DE-RT) versus standard-dose postoperative radiation therapy (SD-RT).<br/><br/>METHODS AND MATERIALS: A total of 7 institutions participated. DE-RT was defined as treatment with a biologically effective dose of &#x2265;79.2 Gy (equivalent of 66 Gy in 33 fractions). We compared progression-free survival (PFS) with DE-RT versus SD-RT via Kaplan-Meier analysis and log-rank t tests, a Cox proportional hazards multivariable model, and propensity score analyses with inverse probability of treatment weighting (IPTW). We also compared incidences of central nervous system radionecrosis (RN) with DE-RT versus SD-RT.<br/><br/>RESULTS: The analysis included 248 patients with high-risk meningioma (59 received DE-RT and 189 received SD-RT). One hundred and eighty-eight cases (75.8%) were World Health Organization grade 2, and 103 cases (41.5%) were recurrent meningiomas. Extent of resection was subtotal resection in 182 of 248 (75.2%). Three- and 5-year PFS rates were 62.8% (95% CI, 55.8%-69.0%) and 45.0% (95% CI, 37.3%-52.3%), respectively. DE-RT was associated with superior PFS rates (P = .0022), with 3-year (86.4% vs 55.6%) and 5-year (65.8% vs 38.8%) PFS rates favoring DE-RT. On multivariable analysis, DE-RT was associated with superior PFS (hazard ratio, 0.40; 95% CI, 0.24-0.69; P = .001). On IPTW, DE-RT continued to be associated with superior PFS (hazard ratio, 0.45; 95% CI, 0.24-0.83; P = .01). A greater incidence of any grade RN was observed following DE-RT (20 of 59; 33.9%) versus SD-RT (25 of 189; 13.2%) (P = .001) but with similar grade 3 or greater RN events (DE-RT 5.1% vs SD-RT 3.2%).<br/><br/>CONCLUSIONS: DE-RT resulted in superior PFS for patients with high-risk meningiomas over SD-RT without an increase in severe toxicities.

Breast

Response-adapted nodal RT after neoadjuvant chemo, held to a 10-yr endpoint, with the randomised answer (B-51) still pending.

Early signal

RAPCHEM (BOOG 2010-03) NCT01872975

ForcT1-2 (<5cm) cN1 breast cancer, post-neoadjuvant chemo and surgery

10yr locoregional recurrence local control

2.9% (24/838)

Low 2.4%, intermediate 3.2%, high 2.8%

TL;DR10yr locoregional recurrence 2.9% (24/838) with response-adapted RT after neoadjuvant chemo; 2.4% in the RT-omission-eligible low-risk group.

Reported via The ASCO Post →

Why it mattersRadiation oncology

The allocation rule, not the recurrence rate, is the transferable part: ypN0 after mastectomy received no RT at all and still ran 2.4% at 10yr, and ypN1 pts had regional nodes omitted entirely. Dose, fractionation and target-volume detail are not reported in source, which limits direct transfer.

Monday clinic

In cT1-2 cN1 pts who convert to ypN0 after neoadjuvant chemotherapy, this supports the safety of a de-escalated RT volume over 10 years; it does not extend to cN2-3 disease, and the randomised comparison remains open.

The longer read
8 details 3 trials watching

Prospective multicentre cohort, N=848 across 17 Dutch centres, accrued 2011-2015, presented at EBCC15 with 10-year follow-up; 838 completed follow-up. Not randomised: every patient received the RT volume their risk group assigned.

Breast tumour under 5 cm with 1 to 3 involved lymph nodes at presentation, treated with neoadjuvant chemotherapy then surgery (BCS or mastectomy). Most underwent axillary lymph node dissection.

Volume was set by post-chemotherapy nodal status. ypN0: breast RT after BCS, none after mastectomy. ypN1: breast or chest wall only, regional nodes omitted. ypN2+: breast or chest wall plus regional nodal irradiation. Dose and fractionation are not reported in source.

24 of 838 (2.9%) had a locoregional recurrence without distant spread at 10 years. Per-group counts appear in the detail table; the rates do not separate across strata.

The randomised test of this exact question is NSABP B-51/RTOG 1304 (NCT01872975), which the investigators expect in about 3 years; until then no trial has randomised ypN0 pts to nodal RT versus omission. Prior nodal-RT evidence (MA.20, EORTC 22922) was built in upfront-surgery populations, so it cannot arbitrate a post-chemotherapy response-adapted rule.

cT1-2 cN1 breast cancer treated with neoadjuvant chemotherapy and surgery, staged with axillary dissection
Does not represent cN2-3 disease, tumours over 5 cm, or pts staged by sentinel node biopsy alone.

The 2.9% rate is uninterpretable without a comparator: a low event count in a de-escalated cohort is equally consistent with the omitted RT having been unnecessary and with the cohort being low-risk to begin with. ALND staging also means the ypN0 label carries more information than a modern sentinel-node ypN0 does.

The finding that recurrence is flat at 2.4% / 3.2% / 2.8% across escalating risk is the intended signal: the added RT in the higher strata may be doing the work that keeps them level with the low-risk group. It does not settle whether the low-risk group needed any RT, only that the allocation rule did not produce a visible failure.

Single-arm prospective cohort with no randomised comparator; allocation used ALND-era nodal staging. Confirmatory randomised answer (NSABP B-51) still pending.

📚 Sources · 📄 1 paper
📄 PAPER · The ASCO Post
Breast Cancer Recurrence Remains Low—Even After 10 Years—With Radiotherapy Tailored to Patient’s Individual Risk
Abstract
“The results of our study show that tailoring the extent of radiotherapy according to how well the chemotherapy has worked to treat cancer in the lymph nodes leads to very low and reassuring recurrenc...
📝 Breast Cancer Recurrence Remains Low Even After 10 Years With Radiotherapy Tailored to Patient’s Individual Risk - The ASCO Post